Chicken and Pumpkin Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was a great way to use my leftover pumpkins from Halloween. I didn't have chicken, so I used pork shoulder instead; also, I cooked this dish overnight on my slow cooker's low setting for 8 hours. After it cooked, I added a little black pepper to taste. Otherwise, I followed this recipe and it came out great! Great flavor and a warm, hearty meal on a cold day. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I was worried about the amount of liquid (specifically the lack of) in the beginning but it turned out great. Only thing I will change next time is use less cinnamon because I am sensitive to it. Otherwise, a great dish for a cool Autumn Sunday evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I just threw everything in the crockpot, raw chicken and all, and cooked on low for 5 hours. Although I did use 1/2 can pure pumpkin instead and left out the tomatoes, coriander, and cornstarch b/c I didn't have it. I added 1/2 cup water instead of 1/4 cup. Added some garlic and cayenne pepper. So yummy and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I made this recipe exactly how you said and it is amazing! Very healthy and filling. It also made the house smell great! The only thing I didn't like was having to peel the pumpkins...I don't have the best peeler so it was a pain, but definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Great recipe. Didn't have any trouble with the water level and the pumpkin was tender and delicious. I added some canned yams to the mix and they blended beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey DuBose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I made this recipe as stated, and it was delicious. I used home canned tomatoes, not drained. The only thing I'd change is cut the pumpkin in smaller cubes. Cutting and peeling the pumpkin was a drag, but worth it. Also, it's been mentioned people used leftover Halloween pumpkins. Really, sugar pie pumpkins is what you'd want to cook with for best results. In a pinch, cubed butternut squash would be a good alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This is a good recipe. Not great. Just good. It could use a little pizzazz. Maybe some cayenne pepper, or something spicy. It is good for the kids and I an always add my own hot sauce later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Really good and hearty. Loved the use of pumpkin in this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This recipe was wonderful! I could not find a 3-pound pumpkin so I substituted butternut squash. My family asked me to add it to my recipe collection. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This was delicious and not too hard, even for a horrible cook like me. I was not brave enough to attempt to cook a real pumpkin, so I used canned pumpkin based on another reviewer's suggestion, and it was still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States