Chicken and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Great soup recipe! I took the advise of others and added 1 can of chicken broth then 1 cup of water. I also added 1 can of Cream of Celery soup. I will cook this again. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Awesome soup, but with a few modifications: substitute cream for milk, 4 cups of chicken broth for water, and add one can of cream of mushroom soup. Also add kosher salt and lots of pepper, and onion powder and garlic powder. I added chopped celery and leeks as well, and omitted the peas. Definitely be sure to simmer this soup for a while so that the potatoes can get mealy- this thickens the soup nicely. My whole family loved this soup and went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Oh this was a great recipe!! My son picked it out and what a hit! We added more vegetables and used chicken broth instead of water and it was yummy! Will do this again. Sending it to my other son away at college. Easy enough and inexpensive enough to make on his budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Loved this recipe! I added a little bit of heavy whipping cream to make it creamier and some seasonings so it wouldn't be bland. I also added some fresh zucchini and a jar of mushrooms. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
I have 5 children and they all LOVE this soup. My husband loves it, my SIL, the grandparents, and for me, I love it with a TON more Tabasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I love preparing soup from scratch. This is by far the very best basic recipe I've ever made! If I could give it 10 stars, I would. I boiled 2 whole chickens then picked it from the bone, I added a bag of mixed frozen vegies (not canned), 1 can cream of chicken soup & 1 can of cream of mushroom soup. My clients loved it & my family said, "This is GREAT!" This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redmond, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I added cream of mushroom soup like everyone suggested and fresh veggies instead of canned, and it turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
love love love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I love this soup!!! one of my favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessiCACA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
It was wonderful, rich, hearty, flavorful and easy to clean up. I did make a few adjustments to work with what I had on hand. I subbed canned pumpkin for the peas, and skipped the onion and hot pepper sauce. I used chicken stock and the canning liquid from the veggies in place of the milk. I also finished mine by slightly mashing the soup so the whole thing was thick with small chunks in it rather then liquid with large chunks but thats personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States