Chicken and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Awesome soup, but with a few modifications: substitute cream for milk, 4 cups of chicken broth for water, and add one can of cream of mushroom soup. Also add kosher salt and lots of pepper, and onion powder and garlic powder. I added chopped celery and leeks as well, and omitted the peas. Definitely be sure to simmer this soup for a while so that the potatoes can get mealy- this thickens the soup nicely. My whole family loved this soup and went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This soup was easy to make and truly delicious. U can vary the thickness of the soup by controlling the amount of water and milk. It was very soothing and satisfying. A must make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
i have been making this for a while now but i use a bag of frozen mixed vegs. instead of canned veg and add a can of cambells cream of mushroom and cream of celery soup to richen the broth. its relly good and a hearty soup ( stew ) thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This is a good basic recipe that can be tweaked according to personal preference. I personally used fresh baby carrots and frozen peas. I also added a splash of heavy cream to make it richer and thicker. The soup turned out rich, hearty, and perfect for this cold snowy day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Oh this was a great recipe!! My son picked it out and what a hit! We added more vegetables and used chicken broth instead of water and it was yummy! Will do this again. Sending it to my other son away at college. Easy enough and inexpensive enough to make on his budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I love preparing soup from scratch. This is by far the very best basic recipe I've ever made! If I could give it 10 stars, I would. I boiled 2 whole chickens then picked it from the bone, I added a bag of mixed frozen vegies (not canned), 1 can cream of chicken soup & 1 can of cream of mushroom soup. My clients loved it & my family said, "This is GREAT!" This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redmond, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This recipe was good but there wasn't much flavor. I added cheddar cheese right before I ate it and it added A LOT more flavor. I had to cook my potatoes about 30 mins more than the recipe said. Good if you don't have many ingredients but defiantly not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
A very good quick, easy, and very hearty stew. Perfect if you're in a hurry. I added a little bit of chipostle salsa on top to give it a little bit of extra smoky flavor and spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Like previous reviews suggested, I used a can of cream of chicken and a can of cream of mushroom. Instead of cooking the chicken in the pot, I grilled it first. I nixed the corn, but added chopped celery and garlic powder. I also added about 4oz of velveeta and 4oz of shredded cheddar cheese. It came out really good! We all had second helpings of it. I'm definitely going to make it again. Probably do roasted garlic next time, and maybe add a dollop of sour cream upon serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Loved this recipe! I added a little bit of heavy whipping cream to make it creamier and some seasonings so it wouldn't be bland. I also added some fresh zucchini and a jar of mushrooms. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States