Chicken and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I think this is a great base for a potatoe soup. i would make this again. As with any soup you have to make it to your liking but before adding any other spices i tasted this as is and i must say for a simple soup it is good and great for those picky children. after I added some rosemary and lemon spice. i also added some minced garlic and I had some shredded zucchini and celery. My chicken had been bbq'd previously so I just took the chicken off the bone and it made for a quick and easy meal. thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliana Grover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I love preparing soup from scratch. This is by far the very best basic recipe I've ever made! If I could give it 10 stars, I would. I boiled 2 whole chickens then picked it from the bone, I added a bag of mixed frozen vegies (not canned), 1 can cream of chicken soup & 1 can of cream of mushroom soup. My clients loved it & my family said, "This is GREAT!" This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redmond, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This recipe was good but there wasn't much flavor. I added cheddar cheese right before I ate it and it added A LOT more flavor. I had to cook my potatoes about 30 mins more than the recipe said. Good if you don't have many ingredients but defiantly not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
A good basic recipe. I ommited all the vegetables and added shredded cheese. I think I combined the basics of this recipe and the basics of another souple, golden potato soup on this website. Sounds like a good soup though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wanaque, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Awesome soup, but with a few modifications: substitute cream for milk, 4 cups of chicken broth for water, and add one can of cream of mushroom soup. Also add kosher salt and lots of pepper, and onion powder and garlic powder. I added chopped celery and leeks as well, and omitted the peas. Definitely be sure to simmer this soup for a while so that the potatoes can get mealy- this thickens the soup nicely. My whole family loved this soup and went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Oh this was a great recipe!! My son picked it out and what a hit! We added more vegetables and used chicken broth instead of water and it was yummy! Will do this again. Sending it to my other son away at college. Easy enough and inexpensive enough to make on his budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This was really easy to make. I added a lot of seasonings and the kids ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This soup was easy to make and truly delicious. U can vary the thickness of the soup by controlling the amount of water and milk. It was very soothing and satisfying. A must make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This recipe was great. We really enjoyed it. I did use fresh carrots and frozen peas and corn. i also used some evaporated milk to make it richer. I will definatley use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
I have 5 children and they all LOVE this soup. My husband loves it, my SIL, the grandparents, and for me, I love it with a TON more Tabasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States