Chicken and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
It was wonderful, rich, hearty, flavorful and easy to clean up. I did make a few adjustments to work with what I had on hand. I subbed canned pumpkin for the peas, and skipped the onion and hot pepper sauce. I used chicken stock and the canning liquid from the veggies in place of the milk. I also finished mine by slightly mashing the soup so the whole thing was thick with small chunks in it rather then liquid with large chunks but thats personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I love this soup!!! one of my favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessiCACA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
love love love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I added cream of mushroom soup like everyone suggested and fresh veggies instead of canned, and it turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Excellent soup!! From normally cooking with chicken broth this was a comfort relief that the milk base made it on its own!! Wonderful, family approved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Like previous reviews suggested, I used a can of cream of chicken and a can of cream of mushroom. Instead of cooking the chicken in the pot, I grilled it first. I nixed the corn, but added chopped celery and garlic powder. I also added about 4oz of velveeta and 4oz of shredded cheddar cheese. It came out really good! We all had second helpings of it. I'm definitely going to make it again. Probably do roasted garlic next time, and maybe add a dollop of sour cream upon serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
My six year old and 2 year old loved it! My husband added tons of hot sauce. I just added salt and pepper to mine. I really enjoyed it. The only change I made was that I boiled the chicken the day before. I used the stock from that in place of the water. I used skim milk and a whole 15.5 oz can of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I have only tried this while it is still cooking, but I love it it. I added 4 oz of cream cheese to the pot that will serve 6. It has made the difference b/c it was kinda bland before but great now. That and plenty of salt. I will serve it with homemade biscuits, my husband is really going to like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I'm only giving this a two star as written. It was a good base recipe & probably should be a three but I'm leaning (this is a standard tator soup recipe with junk added in and I love regular tator soup with nothing more than s&p but I/we felt with the veggies for some reason it needed more). With the changes hubby said it was good and I could fix again which says something at my house. So for those that felt the same way here's what I did (& I don't like using canned soup)--take it or leave it. I added two cans of cream of chicken & one can of cheddar cheese. A pinch of sage, a teaspoon of garlic powder, a fourth of cup of sour cream, a cup of mixed blend mexican cheese & alot of pepper. I prefer spicy, hubby doesn't & I added salsa to my bowl. Again good base recipe & I will fix again but will keep playing with it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This recipe is FANTASTIC! The only reason why I'm giving this four stars and not five is because the recipe definitly needs a few tweaks. For the broth, I used cream of chicken, chicken broth, milk and SOME water. I really think if I used all water it would have been a tasteless soup. I plan on making this soup again and again! Yummy1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States