Chicken and Potato Parcels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This is an excellent entree. I followed the advice of others and microwaved the potatoes, then added to the other ingredients. I also did not cut up the chicken. I have a chef service and put this on my menu. I received rave reviews. It is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I have tried this recipe with success and will be making it for our July 4th BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha Christian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Simple, quick, and quite good. As mentioned before, I cooked the potatoes a bit before mixing everything together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Woodfin Moll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Algoma, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Just made this dish and it was very good and easy! Instead of chicken breast, I used boneless thighs. Didn't have a problem with the potatoes, they were thoroughly cooked. Grilled for 30 minutes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Perfect for camping. You don't need to precook your potatoes.....just cut them a little smaller. Have been making similar recipes like this for years and when having trouble with potatoes, I just add a few ice cubes to the foil pack and it helps steam the potatoes. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Great meal, easy clean up. We added zucchini and crooked neck squash to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This was very good. A little soup, though. Make sure you seal the aluminum foil well. I didn't, and cooked it in the oven, so it leaked all over. Took about an hour in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Very good. I made a half recipe because there are just two of us. I left the skins on my potatoes and cooked in the packets in the Crock-pot on high for about 5 hours to avoid the heat of the oven or grill. I baked the potatoes in an already warmed from lunch oven for about 15 minutes but I think the time in the crock-pot would have cooked them through anyway. I used large (~7" long) potatoes and think one would have been enough in the recipe for us. Will definitely have this again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nyna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremont, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
We thoroughly enjoyed this dish even though we cooked it in the oven. I too was skeptical about the amount of barbecue sauce it called for but it really wasn't all that much when separated into 4 foil packets....and yes we did eat right off the foil. Hint for cooking the potatoes through is cut them into small pieces. 1hr in the oven was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I've never had a problem with the potatoes being raw and we like our vegetables to have a bit of bite. So, with that being said the peppers will not be soggy and cooked all the way through. Some people like their veggies soft, so if that is your preference then definitely saute them first if you can. If you are cooking over a fire and that is your only source of heat, I recommend cooking the potatoes and vegetables in a separate parcel. Double wrap with foil and put the veggies on about 10-15 minutes before you put the chicken on. My mom made these for us when we were kids and it's something I've made a number of times since. Make sure you dice your potatoes, also, if you are cooking in one parcel. That should help with the evenness issue. The other tip is to ensure that you aren't sticking these things directly in the flame! If you do, the protein will cook and the rest will be raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SerenaBloom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States