Chicken and Potato Parcels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This tastes really good, but be sure to cook the potatoes *before* you add them to the parcels. Otherwise the potatoes don't cook through all the way, and if you increase the cooking time as another reviewer suggested, I found that the chicken got tough. I've made this twice and the second time I microwaved the potatoes until tender before mixing them with everything else and cooking. That seemed to work pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELSHARK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delaplane, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
Good flavour, but if you cook it in the oven make sure you double the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Kirby, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I have tried this recipe with success and will be making it for our July 4th BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha Christian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Perfect for camping. You don't need to precook your potatoes.....just cut them a little smaller. Have been making similar recipes like this for years and when having trouble with potatoes, I just add a few ice cubes to the foil pack and it helps steam the potatoes. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
We do a similar recipe when we go camping. We use canned potatoes so they cook about the same time as the other veggies. We even add velvetta cubes (instead of BBQ) for a cheesy sauce. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I've never had a problem with the potatoes being raw and we like our vegetables to have a bit of bite. So, with that being said the peppers will not be soggy and cooked all the way through. Some people like their veggies soft, so if that is your preference then definitely saute them first if you can. If you are cooking over a fire and that is your only source of heat, I recommend cooking the potatoes and vegetables in a separate parcel. Double wrap with foil and put the veggies on about 10-15 minutes before you put the chicken on. My mom made these for us when we were kids and it's something I've made a number of times since. Make sure you dice your potatoes, also, if you are cooking in one parcel. That should help with the evenness issue. The other tip is to ensure that you aren't sticking these things directly in the flame! If you do, the protein will cook and the rest will be raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SerenaBloom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This is an easy to prepare recipe for camping, but it can also be made at home either on the grill or in the oven. Just wrap in a packet and cook until chicken and potatoes are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Simple, quick, and quite good. As mentioned before, I cooked the potatoes a bit before mixing everything together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Woodfin Moll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Algoma, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This was really good, I seasoned my chicken with salt, pepper, garlic powder etc and cooked in the oven for an hour. It came out perfect!! This is a real simple informal and healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
We thoroughly enjoyed this dish even though we cooked it in the oven. I too was skeptical about the amount of barbecue sauce it called for but it really wasn't all that much when separated into 4 foil packets....and yes we did eat right off the foil. Hint for cooking the potatoes through is cut them into small pieces. 1hr in the oven was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States