Chicken and Portobello Rollups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I added feta cheese to the rollup and it was delicious! I also added some worchestershire sauce, as per the reviewers' advice. Adding worchestershire sauce mellows out the saltiness of the mushroom sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
The vegetables had a great flavor. The chicken was very, very bland. We did not add the milk to the cream of mushroom soup, as it would have been WAY too watery. I would make this again, but I would marinade the chicken breasts first. The mushroom soup does not add enough flavor to compensate for unseasoned chicken. I think this recipe would be 4 or 5 stars if it was re-engineered a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARON1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This was really tasty! I made it without the asparagus. Served it over white rice. Husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Sharp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peotone, Illinois, USA
Living In: Manteno, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This was amazing!! The flavors BURST in your mouth! However, I did make a few alterations just because I honestly can't help it. Here are my alterations: 1.Cut the recipe in 1/2 to serve 2 people, 2. When sauteing the red pepper, asparagus & garlic, add garlic last. Minced garlic doesn't take long to cook & you def. don't want it to burn or it will ruin the dish, 3. Used button mushrooms (thats all i had on hand-worked out fine) 4. Sauted veggies in EVOO & a little butter, 5. After flatening the chicken breast, I seasoned the outside with onion powder, poultry seasoning, & black pepper & little seasoned salt, then rolled up and returned to same pan I cooked veggies in to brown both sides of chicken (also added about little EVOO to pan before putting chicken in), 6. For the sauce on top-I deglazed the pan by adding about 1/4 cup chicken broth to pan & scraping all that good yummy stuff at the bottom, let reduce for about 1 minute, then added the entire can of cream of mushroom soup. I skipped the milk & added about 3 tblpns 1/2 & 1/2. Also seasonsed the sauce w/about 1 tspn poultry seasoning & onion poweder, dash black pepper & little garlic salt. SO GOOD!! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This recipe was sooooo good! I've been looking at it for a little over a year, so I figured it was time to finally try it. I was shocked on how easy it was to make. Very yummy. My fiance said it's his new favorite. :) I did add salt, pepper and onion powder to both the chicken before cooking it and to the mushroom sauce (and a few sprinkles of worstershire sauce). I omitted the asparagus and added green bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metalballerina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: La Habra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This was wonderful.. We loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I made this for a group of 10 and it was great. Next time I will be sure to add some cheese to top it off as it seemed to be lacking something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
this was very good, however i tweaked some of the steps/ingredients. i also added some worcestire and a little bit of fresh grated Parmesan cheese to the mushroom sauce. also be careful which kind of mushroom soup you use. i didn't even need to use milk. the kind of creamy mush soup i got was the perfect consistancy. i would recommend not adding the portabellos in at the same time as the peppers/asparagus, they cook quicker, wait a little bit. i also sprinkled some olive oil on the chicken before putting it in oven. i too, served it over rice. my boyfriend's a chef and really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coatesville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This recipe is amazing!!! It is a favorite in my house! My boyfriend says it's the best chicken dish he's ever had!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This is a recipe with great potential. I did use pepper (and the salt) on the chicken as well as in the sauce. We did like this recipe a lot, as we love asparagus and mushrooms. I served it over white rice. But , the next that I make it I will brown the chicken in a little olive oil and add some worcestshire or other spices to the sauce for a little more flavor. Otherwise, a great recipe. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Manchester, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Pickens, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States