Chicken and Peppers with Balsamic Vinegar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I loved this recipe. I made it spicy and it was fantastic with a cool salad on the side and saffron rice for lack of jasmine rice. Nice presentation for a quick meal for company on the fly. I was worried about the sweetness using balsamic as the primary liquid and I thought spicy would be nice. I added crushed red chili peppers to the bell peppers..it was fantastic. I was crunched for time so I used skinless chicken thighs whole instead of the breasts. I think it really enhanced the flavor (slthought adding calories aargh!). I also added most of the balsamic all at once turning the chicken once but mainly keeping the bottoms down to prevent the chicken from darkening too much in the balsamic.Also I'd like to note to keep an eye on the heat when you are 'finishing' the chicken as you dont want the balsamic to reduce too much. Good job all in all..thanks so much for the recipe..it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
We enjoyed this very much. I made some modifications, however. To save time I used a bag of Japanese stir fry veggies (carrots, peppers, broccoli, and water chestnuts). I added a few shots of soy sauce to the mixture and seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper, and cajun seasoning. It gave it a nice kick! A simple meal that tastes great for leftovers, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey C.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I substituted all the colored peppers with just green (it's all that I had) and it turned out great. All of the steps worked out well. Pre cooking the veggies could have been less or cut completely since they have to saute with the chicken an additional 20 minutes. the vinegar at the end adds a great kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This was pretty much perfect. We ate it over penne pasta and sprinkled a little parmesan on top. I used half regular balsamic, and half tomato-flavored balsamic and it was delicious. I know I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This recipce is FANTASTIC! I didn't give it a 5, only because I like my food a little spicier, and also because I think the cooking times need to be adjusted. If you leave the peppers in as long as prescribed, you en up with very pretty mush. Instead, I add them towards the end. Other than that, this is DELICIOUS, and oh-so-easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by surfgirl303

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canandaigua, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
This was a very simple dish to put together and it was really good. I used a little more basil than called for and a little less balsamic. Served it over rice. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mine Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
Very flavorful! I used Greek Seasoning in place of basil, since I was out of it. Next time I will use this as a filler for tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
excellent!! I used balasamic vingrette salad dressing since I didn't have any balsamic vinegar, but just 2 tbsp added to the veggies before putting the chicken back in for about 25 mins to simmer. should have reduced the olive oil in light of that, but will do so next time if I use the salad oil again. super easy recipe and great flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and found it to be very easy and very tasty. We enjoyed it for dinner over rice. It has a mild flavor, not overbearing at all. When browning the chicken I used plenty of S & P and I definately think this helped with the flavor. Also very good the next day as my son ate this for lunch. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I took license with the recipe and what I ended up with, at least for Hubs and me anyway, was nothing short of manna from heaven. I dredged the chicken in flour before sautéing it and, because I’m really not crazy about balsamic vinegar, I used white wine in its place. The chicken is velvety smooth and fork tender. A little lemon might be nice, but this was fine just as is. Using just picked, mild and sweet bell peppers from my garden made this particularly delicious. I served this with “Spaghetti and Bacon,” also from this site, and sliced garden fresh tomatoes from my garden. In my mind it just doesn’t get any better than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Braised Balsamic Chicken

This low-fat recipe makes a delicious dinner served over rice.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States