Chicken and Peppers with Balsamic Vinegar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I was looking for a Chicken and Peppers recipe after having a delicious plate at a local Lebanese restaurant. This was a healthier alternative (I'm certain the restaurant dish had much more oil to taste so yummy). I substituted Italian seasoning and little Chicken Seasoning in place of the Basil, and part Red Wine and Balsamic in place of all Balsamic. This creates a more mild (but well seasoned) dish. Served over brown rice with a smear of goat cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
We thought it was delicious, and very simple to put together. Since I also had some Sweet Italian Chicken Sausage, I used half sliced chicken breast and 3 links of the sausage. I sliced the sausage and browned it first, set it aside, browned the sliced chicken and followed the rest of the recipe. I served it with a harvest grain blend of cous cous, lentils, etc. from Trader Joes. Great easy mid-week dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Did not work for us. Chicken ended up very dry. Too many other good recipes to bother trying again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This recipe was fantastic. Did not need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This was an awesome recipe! I loved it because I didn't have everything on hand that I needed, but I still worked it out! I didn't have garlic or onion so I used powder forms of both. Also, for flavor I used boneless skinless chicken thighs which was amazing! I seasoned the meat with salt and pepper and garlic powder, threw in the peppers, cooked a while then added the balsamic vinegar. Yummm!! I served with bow tie pasta! Will do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This was another hit in my home! My husband was so pleased. :) I added mushrooms and served over brown rice. Yummmmmm-O! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. The flavors were great and it turned out nicely. I served it over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Quick n easy great with couscous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Well, first I cut the recipe in half, except for the onion. After I browned the chicken I mixed in the vinegar, basil and garlic and then simmered for 15 minutes. I added the peppers and onion and then turned up the heat to about medium until the peppers and onions were just tender. I put it on a salad with fresh pineapple and other than the chicken was dry it was delicious. I think next time I will just forgo the simmer time and hopefully it won't turn out dry. Overall, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I took license with the recipe and what I ended up with, at least for Hubs and me anyway, was nothing short of manna from heaven. I dredged the chicken in flour before sautéing it and, because I’m really not crazy about balsamic vinegar, I used white wine in its place. The chicken is velvety smooth and fork tender. A little lemon might be nice, but this was fine just as is. Using just picked, mild and sweet bell peppers from my garden made this particularly delicious. I served this with “Spaghetti and Bacon,” also from this site, and sliced garden fresh tomatoes from my garden. In my mind it just doesn’t get any better than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Braised Balsamic Chicken

This low-fat recipe makes a delicious dinner served over rice.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States