Chicken and Peas Au Gratin Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I halved the recipe and baked in a 9x9" pan. I used rosemary bread and added chopped onions to the cream sauce. I think without the rosemary and the onions, it would have been very bland. DH really liked it but I wasn't a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Excellent! Follows the recipe as written. Recommend adding more cheese, and perhaps diced pimentos for color. Love the toasted bread and cheese that bakes on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I used a bag of baguette slices for the bread, used my own white sauce recipe, skipped the peas, and served green beans on the side. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This was a great start but I think it would do well with some tinkering. I used WAY too little bread (4 slices) so next time I will double the amount to 8 slices (I was too lazy to shred and measure - my fault). This really had a LOT of peas and DH isn't a big fan of them so next time we're going to try 16 oz. of broccoli. Lastly, I think next time I'll try making the roux with half milk and half chicken broth to boost the flavor a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Very good! I only had 2 c. milk so I used 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup mayonaisse to make up the called for 3 cups. I think this added just the right amount of "zing".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Tried this tonight, after reading through the directions I tweeked it a tad by using up some baguette slices I had toasted and frozen. I cubed them up after defrosting and I used frozen spinach (thawed/drained). I did add additional spices as other reviews suggested. I found the ratio of butter to flour far to thick and had to add more milk and butter and whisk for quite awhile to break down the flour, I should've used equal amounts to start with as it still turned out very thick after cooking, I am however glad I used "toasted" bread as it would've been very gummy and too mucky. All in all it was worth trying and next time I'll stick to my own method of cooking white sauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This was good. My boyfriend didn't like the texture. Too soggy. But overall it wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I really liked this recipe alot. My boyfriend did as well but he made a good suggestion. There is an awful lot of cream sauce and not much with it. So we thought if we made some egg noodles to add with it, it would be delicious. I will try that next time. But the dish was declicious as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Layla27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Very quick, for me! I had frozen chicken I cooked last week ready, frozen green beans(not pea fans around here) and frozen rolls from last week. I had everything ready in the time it took to preheat the oven. This casserole was AMAZINGLY yummy, we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Fairly quick & easy, all common ingredients, could use a lil spicing up though. The flavours are simple and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl E Nicholson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States