Chicken and Pasta in a Mango Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I am gluten and dairy free.(unfortunately) I used brown rice pasta in a shape of a larger, but thinner macaronni. I seasoned my chicken with S&P first. I used a yellow pepper, diced smaller, and onion that I sliced thin, but then cut the rings into 1/8ths instead of leaving large rings. (depends on your personal preference.) I cooked them pretty well too. Used a little more garlic and ginger in the sauce since some said was bland. I did have to sub whole coconut milk for the cream because of neccessarity, but we loved it. I didn't have any, but next time some finely chopped Thai basil would be great on top of this. My family looked at me like I was crazy, but my youngest son and I loved this, my husband really liked it and gave it 4, but my older son thought it was ok, and gave it 3, but did have seconds. I do hate when people completely change a recipe and rate it. I don't think I really did that, just made it gluten and dairy free. They did top theirs with Parmesean cheese. I could tell the original would still be delicious. Leftovers heated fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I made this dish for myself, but my picky boyfriend had some leftovers and we both loved it! My alterations: I began by rubbing my chicken with Cajun seasoning before grilling. I diced my onions and used red pepper instead of green, and powdered ginger to taste instead of fresh. I pureed part of the mango and added it in with the cream (I used half-and-half) and some extra parmesan. Added some cayenne pepper for spice. I also used linguine for my pasta. Light flavors but filling and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rosz68
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Made a few changes, used red pepper instead of green and added broccoli. Then sprinkled with paprika before serving. AWESOME!! One of our new favorites! Going to make again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
this was yummy and very different. my boyfriend was a little skeptical at first but he loved it when he took the first bite. loved the cooked mango and everything else in it. it was a little bland but i know how to adjust the next time i make it...there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
the entire family ate it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
With a few modifications, this recipe is amazing!!! I used coconut milk instead of cream, doubled the ginger and added some lemon grass. mmm mmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Fun recipe for a warm day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I ended up really LOVING this recipe, my boyfriend too :), but made quite a few alterations! I had eaten a similar dish at a tasty Italian place in Omaha, called Vivace's, and decided to try something similar at home. I used a yellow bell pepper, simply because I don't like green ones, and I used extra garlic salt, pepper and regular salt to pump up the flavor a little. Also, I baked my chicken at 350 degrees for around 30 minutes, then let it broil a little longer with a ton of jerk seasoning on it, while preparing the sauce, and then sliced it thinly and put it on top of the pasta after the grated parmesan. It was delicious! The kick of the jerk seasoning balanced the sweet and rich sauce SO well I thought. I also pureed half of the mango to put in with the cream, and diced the other half, which seemed to help integrate the flavor of the mango a little :) I will definitely make this again as it was a big hit with my boyfriend who loves tropical-inspired food. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pmb1882
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This was delicious. I've been trying to experiment more and not just cook the same foods all the time. All I had on had was a jar of mango and milk, no cream. So for the sauce I used 1/2 cup mango juice, 1/2 cup 2% milk and 2 tbsp cornstarch to thicken. I also added some sweet peppers for added color, 5 instead of 3 garlic cloves and 3 tspn ginger instead of the 1. It was very delicious! Oh and last note, I used angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pmb1882

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Loved! Didn't use the ginger because we didnt have any. Didn't use the same pasta type. Had a guest over, both my husband and guest loved it, saying it was delicious. Best recipe on here! I've made it twice now, I personally like my mango overripe and squished in this dinner, my husband likes his mango ripe and cubed. I suggest trying it both ways because the mango really changes it! My guest begs me to make this dinner when he comes over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States