Chicken and Pasta in a Mango Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2006
We really liked this dish! I only felt that the 8 oz of pasta was a little too much; I think next time I will use close to 6 oz to maximize the creaminess. Also, for people who may have felt it didn't have enough flavor, try using a little extra ginger, a little cayenne pepper, some cilantro, and a squeeze of lime juice. Adds a little more Thai / Latin American influence. Hearty and reheats really well; we'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
Very good blend of flavors. My mango was not still a bit raw, so I would expect it to taste even better with a proper ripe one. I used skim milk to cut down on fat and thickend the sauce with cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
The end result of this recipe was delicious. I had some preparation problems with not having a pot large enough to hold all of the ingredients together for the tossing, so I ended up dividing it in half, and tossing it in the pan I cooked the chicken in and the other half in the pot I cooked the noodles in. I might use penne pasta next time, though I liked the change in using rotini. Instead of heavy cream, I used 3/4 cup of lactaid skim milk and 1/4 cup margarine. The sauce isn't as thick that way, but it cuts down on the fat and is lactose-free :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
Well, this is one of those odd recipes where I actually couldn't decide whether I liked it or not. It was easy and fun to put together, and looked pretty when done, but I wasn't sure about the flavor and I'd be reluctant to serve it to guests because I'm not sure they'd like it. HOWEVER, my husband really liked it a lot, so I'll be making it again for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bljersey
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I love mango so that was my favorite part of this recipe. It was really delicious fresh, although just very slightly bland. The flavor didn't keep well for leftovers. Next time I would cut the onions differently as the ring shapes were a bit awkward both for cooking and eating. I suggest adding a little more pepper, maybe an additional yellow bell pepper. But overall it was not bad. I would make it again with a few small adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Awesome! Made this for Mother's Day dinner w/my parents and in-laws. My husband and I and all of the parents loved it. I doubled the recipe, used a yellow and a red bell pepper, less onion, less garlic, and a tiny bit less cream. Added the juice of about a third of a lime. My husband is already asking for me to make it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
A good experiment Shaggy! I made this for dinner tonight and it was mmmmmm...good! I will only make a couple of changes next time...instead of rigatoni, I will use linguini or fettuccini, and not mix it all together, but serve the sauce on top of the pasta. The chicken is only okay for me, but Im not a big meat eater and I think this would be just as good without it. I guess I will be doing some experimenting of my own! Lovely dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This recipe had an odd mixture of ingredients but worked out really well. I especially enjoyed the mango it it. The only change I made was to use half and half instead of heavy cream to make it a little healthier. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
this was sooo good. next time i wont even bother with the chicken, the pasta was so good by itself. i used spagatti and added fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
Interesting idea and a great result - nice and light - I added some milk and herbs too to save on the cream. Surprisingly tasty! Definately to be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States