Chicken and Mushroom Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
Excellent recipe. First time, I made it as the recipe said. Second time, I used button portabellas, added lemon pepper at the end, added extra carrots and onions to broth. It was just as good as the first time I made it. Thanks, Joanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
My husband and I loved this recipe! The only thing I need to change in my own preparation is that I need to add a bit more salt... I used homemade chicken browth, and I'm sure that canned browth has plenty of salt already. My husband can be hard to please, and this one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Great chowder. Made no changes, but next time will double the recipe as it always better the second day. And, like to freeze a couple bowls to have on hand for a quick meal. Thanks Joanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
I WASN'T EVEN LOOKING FOR THIS, BUT I COULDN'T FIGURE OUT WHAT TO HAVE FOR DINNER AND I MADE THIS IN UNDER AN HOUR. IT WAS FABULOUS!! IT HAS TO BE EASY FOR ME NOT TO MESS IT UP!!! A NEW FAVORITE OF MINE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen V,LMT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Graniteville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2002
This was an excellent chowder!!! I used fresh portabella mushrooms and a bit more garlic.. YUMMY!! An instant favorite in this house!!! I would use less rice just because it soaks up the yummy broth! KUDOS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
The whole family really likes this chowder. It all disappeared (no leftovers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Both my husband and I really liked this recipe. I did make some changes: turkey instead of chicken, 3 1/2 cups of chicken broth instead of 3, a half bag of frozen veggies, and added a can of campbell's chedder cheese soup. This tasted like a homemade pot pie without the crust, but could used as the filling for a pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
This was a great recipe! Love those one pot meals. Very creamy, & filling. This should go on everyone's list of "comfort foods"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
Very good. I did have to increase the chicken broth and the milk. I didn't add the milk until the end because I tend to walk away while things are simmering. I also adjusted the salt and pepper to our tastes. I will make again. Totally comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
I absolutely love this recipe. I've made it several times and always get rave reviews. It's definitely great comfort food. If I want to thicken it up, I add a can of Cream of Mushroom and it's wonderful. I find it easiest to put a couple chicken breasts in a slow cook all day with salt, pepper, and garlic salt. When I come home, I shred up the chicken (it's like butter by then) and use it for my soup. If I have too much chickent left over, I use it the next for soft chicken tacos or a BBQ chicken sandwich. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States