Chicken and Mushroom Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
I WASN'T EVEN LOOKING FOR THIS, BUT I COULDN'T FIGURE OUT WHAT TO HAVE FOR DINNER AND I MADE THIS IN UNDER AN HOUR. IT WAS FABULOUS!! IT HAS TO BE EASY FOR ME NOT TO MESS IT UP!!! A NEW FAVORITE OF MINE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen V,LMT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Graniteville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
Lots of chopping to get all the veggies right, but good filling chow food. And lots of room for your personal taste - i'm gonna try it with beef and/or pasta and/or sour cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
I thought this was bland and had to really add spices to get adequate taste. Not sure I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2002
This was an excellent chowder!!! I used fresh portabella mushrooms and a bit more garlic.. YUMMY!! An instant favorite in this house!!! I would use less rice just because it soaks up the yummy broth! KUDOS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
My husband and I loved this recipe! The only thing I need to change in my own preparation is that I need to add a bit more salt... I used homemade chicken browth, and I'm sure that canned browth has plenty of salt already. My husband can be hard to please, and this one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
I absolutely LOVED this recipe! Preparation of the vegetables does take a little time, but a food processor helps with that. I used prepared broth (Campbells), so I don't need to add any additional salt. While I prepare the veggies, I cook the chicken breasts in the microwave, and cook the small amount of rice on the stove. By the time they're ready, I'm finished with the veggies - all in all, it was ready to eat in under an hour. I think next time I'll try it with Portabello mushrooms and a whole head of roasted garlic. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
The whole family really likes this chowder. It all disappeared (no leftovers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
My family loved this. Thick and filling. The oregano is a bit strong though. Next time I'll omit that, add more salt and DOUBLE THE RECIPE, as we all wanted MORE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Very good chowder! Other than adding an additional cup of milk to get the soup to our preferred consistency, I didn't change a thing and we really enjoyed the results. The soup is very easy and I would make this again! Thanks Joanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Both my husband and I really liked this recipe. I did make some changes: turkey instead of chicken, 3 1/2 cups of chicken broth instead of 3, a half bag of frozen veggies, and added a can of campbell's chedder cheese soup. This tasted like a homemade pot pie without the crust, but could used as the filling for a pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States