Chicken and Mushroom Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I didn't have mushrooms, so I omitted them. It tasted a little bland, so at the end of the cooking time, I stirred in about 1/2 cup cheddar cheese and it gave it a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Just made this and am having a warm bowl right now...it is delish! Made the following changes based on previous reviews: Cooked chicken breasts in slow cooker with 1/2c water, seasoning salt and pepper on low for 4 hours then could still cube the meat as opposed to it shredding. Used all chicken broth, no water. Cut oregano to 1/2tsp. Sauteed veggies in butter and olive oil. Threw in a handful of frozen corn at the end as I like my chowders with corn for that little sweetness. Could still use a little salt, but that is easily added at the table. Very easy to make, great creamy consistency and so good! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Very good recipe.Just changed a couple of things. For all of the liquids used all chicken broth.Used white rice instead of long grain rice.Both ways are good.Added a cup of frozen vegetables to it.And when its done we have put it over Biscuits or mash potatoes. Works for us. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jerome, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
A very good chowder! I made it exactly as the recipe stated and it came out perfectly. Next time I think that I will try corn instead of carrots as one other reviewer suggested. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This recipe is amazing! I took it to my sister's house for lunch, and 6 people ate a double batch. I doubled the recipe almost exactly, and I added a can of cream of mush. soup. To cook the chicken, I put 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts in a crock pot with 1/2 c. water,1/2 tsp. garlic salt, & 1/2 tsp. pepper. I cooked the chicken over night (about 8 hours) on low. The chicken was extremely moist and just fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsflynn7205

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Great! I didn't have mushrooms, so I left them out, but it was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kays

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Very good! I used tarragon instead of oregano and seasoned a bit more with my trader joe's 21 all spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was fantastic! So thick and delicious. Very filling! I thought it needed a good dose of salt, but that is just personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This was decent, lacked a little flavour as others mentioned but good for a cold wintry day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This was very tasty, I left out the oregano and the water as others suggested. I used "Better than Bouillion" to make the broth and I used barley instead of rice because that's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States