Chicken and Mushroom Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Made this last night after reading all the reviews. My husband called it "hot icecream"! Was absolutely delicious! Followed reviewers suggestions by replacing the oregano w/tarragon. Also used half & half & heavy cream in place of milk. Also used all broth instead of water, and ended up adding about one cup more. Used more salt & pepper than recipe called for but did it all by taste - that's pretty much how I cook! WE LOVED THIS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Good base recipe but needed lots of tweaking....very flat, I added celery salt, celery , lots of pepper, parsley & more garlic & a can of mushroom soup & also used cream (made it very rich & delicious. Had chicken carcess so made my own broth & added the chicken at the end. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millbrook, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I made this meal tonight and followed it to the "T" as far as seasonings go. I didn't add carrots but added corn instead. I can see why some people thought this was a little bland because the broth/liquid didn't have much flavor. I tasted the oregano and that was nice but I felt it just needed a little more "umph" to it. I did have to add salt. I would possibly make this again but with my own twist to make a little richer flavor. I bought a pre-roasted chicken at the store and pulled the meat off that to add in, just as a time-saver. I added it during the last 15 minutes of cooking because chicken tends to shred when cooked too long in a broth like this. Overall, not bad. It's worth making again with a few added touches of my own. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawnalton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This is delicious! Followed the recipe except I added some frozen peas at the very end and then I forgot the milk, but I don't think it really needs the milk. It looks and tastes like the insides of a chicken pot pie. Used Wondra flour to add to the veggies. Yummy! My husand loves this too and I am going to take it to a group I meet with when it is my turn to take the soup! Thank you so much for posting this recipe. It is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Very good! Pretty much followed to a "t" except left out 1/2 C water and went lighter on oregano like other reviewers. Put in slow cooker like one reviewer did (with whole, frozen chicken breast).. Put mushrooms and milk in 1hr before serving and the mushroom had softened slightly but gave it an added texture that was nice (instead of super soft like in an overcooked soup). Husband loved it, and he's very hard to please. He even said he'd love to have this again, which is a very rare occurrence indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Good/not great. The only thing I changed was I used half the oregano. 1.5 tsp for a small-ish amount of soup sounded a bit potent. I liked it with that amount....probably would have found the amount called for too overpowering. This was too thick for me....just heavy, not chowderish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I'm going to try this, but I don't think I'd add the chicken until closer to the end--chicken seems to sort of disintegrate if you boil it to death with the rice. It does not seem to be well-seasoned, though that can always be fixed. Don't really need the water, I don't think, but maybe subbing 1/2 and 1/2 for the milk might be nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I made this recipe as written, and we thought it was delicious! My 20 month old son LOVED it, he's not a vegetable eater, but he ate this right up, veggies and all. We didn't think this was bland at all, I'm not sure why people thought that. If you add the amount of oregano and pepper to the chicken that it called for then it tasted great. Thanks for posting this recipe, Joanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
The only thing I added to this was some salt. Other than that, I made it exactly the way it stated. I don't know why people found this bland. There's nothing bland about it (unless you're into really spicey foods). I made this for a dinner at work (I'm a shift worker). I made it the night before for the next night's work. I teased myself with a taste of it. I wanted more but had to hold back! lol The recipe is great just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I didn't have mushrooms, so I omitted them. It tasted a little bland, so at the end of the cooking time, I stirred in about 1/2 cup cheddar cheese and it gave it a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States