Chicken and Mushroom Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This is a good soup, but needs a bit of spicing up as it is a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
A great dish that can be seasoned many ways to your taste. It's great if you have left over chicken and rice which I did,much quicker to make.I also sauted celery with the onions,carrots,garlic and mushrooms.Did extra mushrooms,we love them.Did not use the water. My husband and I love curry ,it was great.Next time I think i will try cumin.Thanks for a great recipe that can be seasoned many ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mountain mama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I made this as recipe states only leaving out oregano, this was awsome! My whole family loved it, a great comfort food on a cold winter day! I will make again for sure, thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was ok...very bland, had to add a lot of salt and the rice did not cook all the way. May try again and add my own twist on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Very good. I substituted heavy cream for the milk. I really liked the result, it was thick and creamy. I made it for a group of Veterans, many came back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane
Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I made this recently and it is a keeper, I did add corn as suggested in previous reviews and the 1/2 water was changed to chicken broth also, though I think more chicken broth is needed for this to be a chowder because as left overs it is no longer a chowder and more like a casserole. Next time I will add more chicken broth and I think I will make it with wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I prepared this recipe as written and it ended up pasty and bland. I added parsley, garlic salt, white pepper, at least double the original black pepper, frozen corn and a significant amount of extra milk (hoping to help out with the pastiness). With all of the extra seasonings I added it was still quite bland. As a starter I may use this again, but as a finished chowder I will not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Good recipe. I thickened with cornstarch added to the milk at the end. Also added chicken just before thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Because everyone suggested more spices, I added some, but added too much white pepper which overpowered the taste. Other than that mistake, I think it is a great, quick tasty chowder and plan to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I made the recipe as listed. I even used skim milk and it came out great. I was a little worried about the milk after reading the other reviews, but it came out nice and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenn Zinn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States