Chicken and Mushroom Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This was just OK for me. I cut down on the oregano because it sounded like too much and I don't love it. It tastes like chicken pot pie middle and is pretty good. It could use more rice to make it heartier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This was pretty good. I used barley instead of rice and added some green beans I had laying around. It didn't make us stand up and cheer but it was good and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was certainly a good and acceptable chowder but it just didn't have that distinction that makes it outstanding, even after some tinkering which I know only made it better. I didn't use any water and wondered why the recipe would call for it. The oregano not only seemed excessive, but I felt would make for a one-dimensional tasting soup, so I substituted a good Tuscan seasoning blend instead. To add even more flavor, color and texture I added chopped celery and chopped red bell pepper to the vegetables. While I acknowledge this is a chowder, which implies it will be thick, it still was TOO thick and needed additional chicken broth. I'm thinking the flour was unnecessary in the first place! Also, since the chicken is already cooked I added it at the end rather than cook it any further. It was an okay soup/chowder, but even with additional seasoning including salt and pepper, extra garlic, no water and a wider variety of vegetables it still seemed to lack depth and complexity. I'm thinking that even a bit of dry white wine or sherry might make a big difference, though I also believe the chowder should stand on its own without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This was a quick, easy and very tasty dish. Didn't change a thing and my whole family loved it. Perfect comfort food for a cold winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willoughby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
not sure what, but this recipe was missing something. possibly could have benefitted from making a white sauce with butter as the base, definitely needs some salt also! this one won't be going into the books!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deetergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nappanee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I agree with other reviewers who think that the oregano is overpowering. If I make this again I will leave it out completley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Steagall
Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This is a really good basic recipe, but I couldn't help making some changes the second time around. I sprinkled a little salt, pepper, and oregano on the chicken pieces, then sauteed in 2 tbsp of butter. I also added diced potato and celery. Wasn't bad lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Luke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Soquel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This chowder was excellent! Thanks Joanie and Allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This is truly a thick and delicious chowder. I did use the flour, as I consider this the reliable way to thicken chowders. And, as per other reviewers, be sure to stir about 1/2 cup of the stock (I always use stock, never broth) into the vegetable/flour mixture BEFORE returning it all into the stock. This will insure no lumps in your finished product. One other tip: you do not need cooked chicken to start with; simply cut up raw chicken breasts into bite-size chunks and cook them in the simmering broth for 20 minutes, prior to starting the recipe. Then you will proceed as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This was so good!! The only change I made was that I added an extra carrot. I will probably use 3 carrots the next time I make it. The carrots give it color and a little extra flavor. This is great served with salad and biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States