Chicken and Mushroom Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
The is a nice and easy meal, although I found it rather bland. I added a red pepper, celery, a splash of white wine, more salt and pepper and a little seasoning blend, and it still was missing something--maybe Cayenne? My husband liked it though and he usually goes for big flavor, and it definitely looked yummy to serve, so I gave it four stars instead of three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harleysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this w/leftover turkey, barley and added a few stalks of celery. Omitted rice, water, and used 1/2 the amt of oregano. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Barneveld, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was really good. I didn't give it a five because it wasn't to die for, and needed some extra spice to it. I doubled the amount of rice, and used less dried oregano as suggested. Next time I will omit the carrots, and add some corn. With the remaining leftovers, i warmed it up with a can of chicken broth and made chicken mushroom chowder soup. Very good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AppleJacks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Good concept, needs a little extra spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Made this the first time exactly as directed & really liked it, but thought suggestions from some others sounded good, so I cut back on the oregano to 1/2 t. and added cream of chicken soup. It was to die for. I'm making it tomorrow & will double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
this is the first thing i can say that i dont like. its bland, and definately not making this agian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
YUM! This was very tasty! I added celery too. I will for sure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This dish is so comforting. I omit the carrots, the oregano, and water, and I also add the chicken in at the end. First I boil water with powdered chicken broth. Then I start the veggies just as the recipe says but without carrots. After putting the flour in, I add some of the boiling broth, about 1/2 a cup to the veggie mix to make sure there are no clumps. Then I add the veggies, seasoned chicken, and rice into the boiling broth. When it starts to boil again, I add the milk and any additional seasonings. Usually when making this dish, I serve it along with baked chicken. While baking the chicken I reserve about a 1/2 cup of the chicken juices for the chowder. After adding the milk, add the juices. I makes such a difference! Also, if I'm in the mood, I take a hot pepper, poke tiny holes in it, and I put in the chowder to boil . At the end I remove it, and the final dish is so yummy! My family absolutely loves it, and its perfect for a cold winter night! Tip: if you find the chowder is thickening to much at the end and too quickly, just keep adding in small amounts of milk until the rice is fully cooked. Season with black pepper and salt if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I highly recommend adding crumbled cooked bacon to this, which is more like a casserole than a chowder, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin De Looff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I followed the recipe and I just didn't like the results. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States