Chicken and Mushroom Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Followed the directions almost exactly, but switching the water with more chicken broth. Found the flavor to be very bland. The consistency is more like curry that's been mixed with rice than an actual chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Kind of bland. Nothing special. Wasn't worth the effort and time it took to pick the meat from the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This is a wonderful comfort food! I made it as written except I had only canned chicken so instead of adding the water, I dumped the chicken and broth in. I used half the amount of oregano because oregano can really overpower the delicate chicken flavors. I added 1 celery stalk, chopped finely. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Unless you LOVE oregano cut it way down -I thought the oregano was overpowering! Will give the recipe another try using less oregano and will resubmit my review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Great comfort food. I make some minor adjustments. I substitute the water with more chicken broth and only use 1 teaspoons of oregano. I also throw in whatever I have handy: garlic powder, onion powder, poultry seasoning, parsely flakes, etc. And since the chicken is already cooked, I don't put it in until the very end. Awesome on a cold evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was very bland. Not crazy about the oregano. I doctored it up, but won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This recipe turned out sort of bland and doesn't have enough colour. Needs stuff added to it, but I wasn't sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was a pretty average tasting soup. I needed about double the chicken broth even though I cooked the soup covered. After adding 1 tsp. oregano, I tasted the soup and felt that was plenty of oregano...maybe too much. I added a little basil, rosemary, and parsley to get a better blend of flavors, but never got it exactly right. I altered the preparation directions: after adding the flour to the vegetables, I stirred in 2 T. Sherry and the 1 c. milk, stirred until the mixture was thick and bubbly, then added it to the broth/rice mixture. I added the cooked chicken near the end to avoid overcooking...there is no need to add it in step 1 before the rice even cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
The is a nice and easy meal, although I found it rather bland. I added a red pepper, celery, a splash of white wine, more salt and pepper and a little seasoning blend, and it still was missing something--maybe Cayenne? My husband liked it though and he usually goes for big flavor, and it definitely looked yummy to serve, so I gave it four stars instead of three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harleysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this w/leftover turkey, barley and added a few stalks of celery. Omitted rice, water, and used 1/2 the amt of oregano. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Barneveld, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States