Chicken and Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I have cooked this recipe twice now, once with the bone in chicken and once with boneless skinless. We are health concious and usually use boneless skinless anyway. My husband and I both preferred the boneless skinless. We also soaked the lentils about a 1/2 hour before using them and cooked the chicken alot longer in the skillet right off and then longer in a dutch oven on the stove. It is very tasty. I added cumin and basil and omitted the rosemary, as my husband is arab and this dish, done this way, is more like his own culture's food. Also, I added extra lemon. Great dish and eay to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mish1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
YUMMY!! I will definitely make this again and again. Like other reviewers, I soaked the lentils for an hour and doubled the lentil cooking time. I also left the salt until last since salt prevents the softening of pulses. I used a jar of olive tomato sauce and I served it over macaroni. It was absolutely wonderful, what a great lentil recipe, thanks! (By the way, if you're using red lentils, you can probably stick with the cooking times. Brown lentils take the longest to soften.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Delicious and very satisfying, especially on a chilly evening. I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs and it matched well with the lentils. The chicken came out very tender. I had to add about an extra cup of water as the lentils cooked. I actually thought that the flavor was delicious before adding the tomato sauce, so I might try omitting it next time for a change. Definitely use fresh rosemary if you have it on hand, and don't skip the lemon juice -- it really brings the flavors together at the end. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This was really good. I used 1 tsp fresh basil instead of 1/2 dried because my husband, the food snob, said that dried basil is really to be used when it can cook for awhile for the flavors to escape. We all liked it and then, my husband put a few drops of a very nice Balsamic vinegar and some long shavings of parmesean reggiano cheese on it for garnish and wow! I thought it was good but when he did that, I knew what the others were talking about when they said it needed something more. I will add the Balsamic after the lemon juice from now on. Thanks! We love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
Put all in the crockpot before bed and the wonderful smell woke me up at 5:30 in the morning. Used 14-oz can of pureed tomatoes instead of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
I had never had lentils before but I really loved this. My husband and one year old son loved it also. I added a little fresh grated motzarella cheese on top. I also cooked it all my croc pot on low heat for about 6 hours - turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hastings, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I used almost 3 cups of broth and skipped tomato sauce and lemon juice. It turned out to be a very comforting food. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
This recipe was great... I will certainly be making this one again - incredible! I had people flocking to my apartment, asking what the smell was... This recipe was quite filling, very satisfying... I used red lentils; they soften much quicker than brown, and gave the dish a saucy consistency (I served over spaghetti). I also used salsa rather than tomato sauce. I really enjoy spicy food, so this gave it an extra little kick. Thank you to the person who made that suggestion! Very much appreciated! A tiny bit of grated ginger also tastes great! For vegetarians out there, tofu substitues well for the chicken. I would recommend cubing, and sauteing in some oil for about 2 mins (extra firm tofu) Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASHLEY40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Wow! I've been trying new recipes with lentels and this one is now my favorite! I put the spices in before the stock to release their flavors. Next time, I might omit the tomato sauce (taste tested and it was great before the sauce, also). Wonderful both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
It was a little bland to me as I love spicy flavorful foods so I added extra spices of CUMIN and Trader Joe's Every Day Seasoning. Served this over white rice. Froze half of the recipe for lunches.Great go to quick meal any type of meat can be used...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayashiangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Branch, Michigan, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States