Chicken and Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Delicious and very satisfying, especially on a chilly evening. I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs and it matched well with the lentils. The chicken came out very tender. I had to add about an extra cup of water as the lentils cooked. I actually thought that the flavor was delicious before adding the tomato sauce, so I might try omitting it next time for a change. Definitely use fresh rosemary if you have it on hand, and don't skip the lemon juice -- it really brings the flavors together at the end. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
This is very good and very different! I really liked it, and my two year old said "Mommy I yike this" (surprisingly, because of the lentils and veggies)! I also added a red bell pepper, because I had it and it was about to go bad. I rarely cook with bone-in chicken with skin, or with dark meat, but it was really good. I used a package of chicken thighs. VERY inexpensive, nice change! Next time I would remove the skin, we picked it out anyway. I would recommend this, but make sure you don't overdo the rosemary (I almost did). It can get that "perfumy" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
I didn't have all the ingredients called for in this recipe - I didn't have the carrot or the tomato sauce, and I used boneless skinless chicken tenderloins instead of bone-in pieces - and it still turned out great! Rich flavor, very moist and tender chicken - I will definitely make this again, as I imagine it will taste even better with the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunland, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
Good overall. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts and they were a little dry in the middle, so next time I'll try thighs. The lentils were a bit bland (sauce was good, but too many lentils in a bite and it lacked flavor), so next time I think I'll add the spices when I return the chicken to the skillet, or maybe even earlier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemaytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
To begin with I WAS afraid of the Lentil ingredient, but as it turns out, I like lentils. I thought this was very good. My husband thought it was ok but isn't looking forward to it again so I think I'll make it for my mother and myself sometime. I know she will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
Suprisingly delicious-not a big lentil fan but I may change my mind!- my 11 month old couldn't eat it fast enough. As far as my other children were concerned-also not big lentil fans and not as daring as mom was to try them- the chicken was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRABLUE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
Put all in the crockpot before bed and the wonderful smell woke me up at 5:30 in the morning. Used 14-oz can of pureed tomatoes instead of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
Good! I added 1/2 chopped green pepper and used a chunky style spaghetti sauce instead of the tomato sauce. Tasty with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Loved it! I should have listened about the extra broth for the lentils...they ended up a little less tender than I would have liked and the leftovers were a tad dry. I didn't use the rosemary, carrots or lemon juice and it was still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGBAUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Phenix City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
Recipe was great! I couldn't believe how flavorful it was. I would recommend soaking the lentils for a few hours before cooking them or cooking them for double the recommended time. I will definitely be adding this recipe to my favorites list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States