Chicken and Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This was very good. I used 4 smallish boneless chicken breasts cut up into 1-inch pieces. The only other changes I made were to add cumin (recommended by so may others) and at the end, added a tablespoon of sherry vinegar at the end along with the lemon juice. If it's a little too soupy, simmer uncovered for a few minutes to reduce down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This dish is quite flavorful. i soaked the lentils and added the onion, carrot, and garlic to the chicken instead of removing the chicken (I also used boneless skinless chicken thighs). I found that soaking the lentils decreased the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ospooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
yummy! left out the rosemary and lemon. and added some paprika and a small bay leaf. will make again. gets better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Very good. I soak the Lentil for a couple hours before I cook them and also I didn't use the Rosemary or lemon juice. And it still came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This is pretty good. My husband really liked it. It is soupier than I expected it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLS38

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
LOVED this - whole family did. A couple of small changes: soaked lentils 1 hour before cooking. added cumin to chicken breasts (used boneless thighs) before adding to broth. And added a splash of balsamic vinegar at end. Served over basmati rice, but great on its own... Did not add tomato sauce based on reviews, but will try diced tomatoes next time for an added something. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I used almost 3 cups of broth and skipped tomato sauce and lemon juice. It turned out to be a very comforting food. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was so good, I have never had much success with lentils in the past, but came upon this recipe looking for something I could make using lemons and rosemary from my garden. I made some changes using what I had at home: 1 lb boneless skinless chicken breasts, chicken boullion instead of broth, no tomato sauce, fresh rosemary, doubled because I didn't use basil, added ~1/2 Tb. balsamic vinegar at the end with the lemon. This was great, I can't wait to eat leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
It was a little bland to me as I love spicy flavorful foods so I added extra spices of CUMIN and Trader Joe's Every Day Seasoning. Served this over white rice. Froze half of the recipe for lunches.Great go to quick meal any type of meat can be used...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayashiangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Branch, Michigan, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This is great served over brown rice or a can of hominy, heated up. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Pike

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States