Chicken and Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Lulu
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Really liked this! I DID include the tomato sauce (unlike many others) and think it helped add a kick to it. I also added cumin to part of the batch and it was tasty either way. Only real alteration I might suggest is to use skinless, boneless chicken breast. It cuts @ 75 calories per serving from an already healthy, low fat meal and the taste was still good. Will make again! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I omit the tomato sauce and add a couple of handfuls of chopped fresh tomatoes instead. Also soaking the lentils before you cook them shortens the cooking time. I also have a moroccan seasoning that I add to the pot that really brings out the north african flavours. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by red_river_princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was exactly what I was looking for. Simple, hearty, delicious and healthy. This will definitely be put into regular meal circulation. I used French lentils, and frozen chicken thighs. No tomato sauce, but hit it with a drizzle of high quality balsamic vinegar at the end. I couldn't stop eating it, the kids were mixed reviews, curse that late snack. The hungrier ones loved it, lol. Incidentally, I had soaked the lentils for aboooouut uh, 2 days. I had planned to make it sooner. So I kind of eyeballed the liquids. I served it with some crusty sourdough bread and red wine (for me, not the kids ;)Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
What a tasty, easy dish! I used 3c stock (my own turkey stock from this year's Thanksgiving - pulled from freezer- and low sodium by default), a can of diced salt free tomatoes and fresh ground black pepper, cumin, turmeric and chili flakes for spices. I started with the onion and garlic (double to 4 cloves) and spices for a few minutes, to infuse the oil and toast the spices. Then browned the chicken while finishing the the onion and garlic - no need to add then remove chicken. Then added the lentils and stirred for a couple of minutes, then the carrots, same amount of time. Then I added the liquid ingredients, a bit of salt and put on the lid and simmered all for a good 1.5 hours while doing other things. I finished it off with the lemon juice and garnished with fresh cilantro. I used one pot, no in and out of anything - a happy stew was had. Dark meat would also be tasty but I used breast. Also think it would be nice with spicy sausage or even a firm white fish, added at the end. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I've made this recipe about 4 times now. The first 2 times I made it as stated. Delicious! I then left out the tomato Sauce at the end. We liked it better. I made it last night for dinner using french lentils, no tom sauce and spiced pumpkin seeds as garnish. We served it over brown rice and everyone was in heaven. I would give this recipe 10 stars if possible. Don't be afraid to play with it. Oh also I always cook it in my crockpot 6 hrs on low 4 on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Nice and Easy to prepare. Suprisingly great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Pretty tasty. I soaked my white lentils for an hour beforehand and they were perfect. I also used fresh rosemary and basil from the garden (1 tsp each- needs more). Splashed in a bit of balsamic from previous reviewer suggestion. I chopped up my chicken into bite size pieces so didn't cook them the whole 20 minutes, but more like 5. Will use the whole pieces next time. I didn't use any tomato sauce per previous reviews. And forgot to add the cumin everyone was suggesting. So my result wasn't following the recipe perfectly, but was pretty close. And it's pretty good. It's certainly easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Great hearty meal - and healthy too! I used cubed chicken cutlets. Meant to season them while cooking so they absorb some flavor... next time! Used shredded carrots, added garlic with the onion; cumin and coriander in place of rosemary and left out the tomato sauce. I used red lentils but will definitely use brown next time as the red lentils just turned into mush and I had to quickly cook rice for this to be served on. I could kick myself for having forgotten to add the lemon juice at the end... with the cumin, coriander and lemon juice flavors, this becomes very similar to a Persian stew - which is just yumminess all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This was very good. I used 4 smallish boneless chicken breasts cut up into 1-inch pieces. The only other changes I made were to add cumin (recommended by so may others) and at the end, added a tablespoon of sherry vinegar at the end along with the lemon juice. If it's a little too soupy, simmer uncovered for a few minutes to reduce down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This dish is quite flavorful. i soaked the lentils and added the onion, carrot, and garlic to the chicken instead of removing the chicken (I also used boneless skinless chicken thighs). I found that soaking the lentils decreased the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ospooks

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 51-60 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States