Chicken and Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I had no idea I could cook this good!!! I used 3 carrots (yummy) and fresh herbs. I did not add the tomato sauce because it already tasted amazing. Thank you for such a wonderful and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I loved the flavors in this dish. I used leftover rotisserie chicken and as I was unsure how I would like the addition of so much tomato sauce, just added several healthy squirts of tomato paste from the refrigerated tube always on hand in my fridge. We enjoyed this with a salad and corn bread. Try this recipe, I think it's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Really good! I used chopped tomatoes instead of sauce and much less chicken because we're not huge meat eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Very Tasty! Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
We made this the other night with boneless skinless chicken breasts. Otherwise, we followed the recipe exact using red lentils. We really LOVED the texture and the veggies, but we thought it was missing a little kick. We love spices, so the next time we make it, we'll probably quadruple the garlic and add a serrano pepper or cayenne powder. It's a perfect, healthy meal with a side of whole wheat flatbread and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RowanaSabe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Followed the directions except used boneless chicken breast and added leftover salsa and cooked in crockpot on low for 6 hours. We ate it over angel hair pasta. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This was extremely tasty! I've never made lentils before, but I'm now a convert. I changed the recipe slightly: soaked 1/2 cup dried brown lentils for about 2 hours before cooking; used chicken breast diced up into large pieces instead of bone-in chicken pieces, and seasoned with salt and pepper when cooking them. kept all other ingredients in the same amounts, so it made the final result a little more liquidy. I subbed fresh chopped tomatoes for the tomato sauce. I was going for a more middle-eastern taste, so I subbed 1 tsp cumin and 1/2 tsp baharat spice blend (google it!) for the rosemary and basil. stirred through lemon juice and plain yoghurt at the end, served over basmati rice and it was fab! If I had any fresh mint, I would've added that too. great recipe for lentil virgins :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I made the Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken from this site a couple of days ago and had some leftover shredded chicken that I used for this recipe. It was great, turned out very flavorful. I left out the tomato sauce and exchanged cumin for the rosemary as others had suggested. We will be making this again for sure, a tasty dish with little effor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I skipped the tomato sauce because this was just so tasty without it (kept the lemon though)! Easy to prepare and an awesome slow-carb meal. Served with asparagus- DELISH! Easy, yummy, and healthy. It's definitely going into the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Well, when I pulled out my chicken, it was expired. So I went ahead and just made the lentil part, which was easy and tasty. I was worried about waiting too long for them to be done, so I soaked them for probably about an hour (accidentally-I meant it to be 30 minutes...), then they ended up cooking for about 40 minutes. I didn't add salt or any of the tomato sauce stuff. I'll have to try this again with chicken ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States