Chicken and Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
My husband and I absolutely loved this recipe. I used fresh basil and rosemary and cooked the chicken for a lot longer. Other than that, the cooking times were right on. For the lentils I used the generic lentils from the grocery store, so I didn't have any trouble with cooking them- I did not soak them either. Definitely add the lemon juice. I served this over whole wheat spiral pasta with parmesan cheese- Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I made it exactly as the recipe says, and it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This turned out quite good. Used boneless, skinless chicken cubed, didn't add the salt as I didn't feel it needed it with the chicken broth and subbed salsa instead of tomato sauce per a couple other recommendations. I skipped the rosemary as I didn't like the sound of it with this dish. Otherwise, served over whole wheat spaghetti and found it to be a very hearty and filling meal. Would like to try using different lentils as I used red and find these to take on a mushier consistency, almost seems like potato is in the dish (found the same when I made Spinach Lentil Soup from this site). Anyway, great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I threw everything in the crockpot, added green pepper and substituted duck instead of chicken. YUMMM! I also used 1/2 spaghetti sauce and 1/2 homemade salsa. And 1 1/2 c. chicken stock. Served over macaroni. Great winter, warm up your body & soul dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Very delicious dish, but I tweaked it (as I always seem to do) by adding a skosh of Madras Curry, some black pepper, 4 fire roasted red sweet peppers and some smoked, sliced Andouille sausage. I also threw in a few good dollops of a good yoghurt right before serving to add creaminess and tang. It was very good before. It's even better now and is a meal by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This was just ok. I ommitted the rosemary because I don't really like it and added cumin intead. I found that the recipe was kind of bland and if I made it again would add more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
THIS RECIPE WAS GREAT, FULL OF FLAVOR AND SOMETHING OF A CHANGE. I USED RED LENTILS AND SERVED OVER BROWN RICE, FOR THE HEALTH FACTOR. YOU MUST GIVE THIS A TRY. WILL USE THIS AGAIN HOWEVER, I WILL REMOVE ALL OF THE SKIN. THIS IS A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Stream, New York, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I saved a bunch of time by using canned lentils, drained and rinsed. I left out the rosemary because I don't really like it, and added a few healthy shakes of cumin, which made it wonderfully tasty! I skipped the tomato sauce too, as my hubby's not a fan of tomato in his lentils and it was wonderful for a cool autumn night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reesa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This is an excellent recipe and it made the best lentils I ever had (and I like lentils). The only reason I am docking a star is it took a lot longer to cook the lentils than the recipe stated and my large on the bone chicken breast halfs got overcooked a little bit. Also, I noticed a lot of recipes talk about not enough liquid - I ended up with too much liquid (soupy lentils) and I measured the ingredients as stated. Next time I will: 1) take the chicken out based on the recipe time, but will continue cooking the lentils for at least 30 more minutes 2) use 1 cup of lentils instead of 3/4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This didn't go over well with my husband and I. We have a problem with the texture of the lentils. I soaked them for an hour per a previous reviewer and cooked them a tad longer as well. We didn't like how the lentil skins came off into the dish after soaking either. Perhaps this was the wrong recipe in which to try them for the first time. I ended makeing a salad with the chicken from this recipe instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States