Chicken and Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Great recipe for non lentil lovers. Put all ingrediance in a crockpot for 6 hours on low. My tweeks: no carrots,petit diced tomatoes 1/2 can and added turmeric and red pepper flake. In the crock pot I added things in this order. 1st layer lentils,onions,tomatoe seasoning and water. Then added skinless chciken thighs season them again and added a few more onion. I adjusted the salt while cooking. Family liked it and they're not lentil fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess sandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I used boneless skinless chicken cut into chunks, no other changes. I make this dish quite often, it is delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
It's a great easy recipe. I've made it multiple times and I love it!!! It's hearty, tasty, home cooked meal. I would recommend it to anyone who is curious about lentils but doesn't know if they'll like the final product. Kids have even given me 2 thumbs up because they loved the taste...which I must say lentils usually wouldn't be one of those foods. Lol I would recommend soaking the lentils overnight or even while chopping veggies...it makes a difference in the cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I made this recipe as is (with the exception of using boneless, skinless chicken breast meat because that's what I already had on hand) and thought it was pretty decent. I also thought it tasted a little better after sitting in the fridge for a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I tried this because I wanted something health conscious (used boneless skinless breasts) and it was amazing! My partner loved and he is a serious picky eater. Will definitely make again! thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmamach

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I give this 5 stars for being cheap, healthy and tasty. I did not have tomato sauce or lemon juice, but it was just fine without. As others suggested, I tossed everything in the crock pot for about 6 hours on high. I used chicken thighs so the meat was really tender and falling apart and the general consistency was almost like a stew. Served it over egg noodles to positive reviews from the entire family, toddler included. Thanks for an easy, healthy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Okay, sorry I just threw a lot of extra stuff from my kitchen in this. First tho, let me suggest you put the lentils on to cook with the chicken broth first, before you do anything else. That way they are softened in plenty of time. After browning the chicken breasts I threw them in a 350 oven while I prepared the rest if the recipe. It takes time to chop a large onion and a few carrots and garlic! It took almost 10 minutes to soften the onions. Instead of tomato sauce i used 2 cups of fresh chopped tomatoes. I had some boiled potatoes on hand so I diced them and added them too. I even had corn on the cob in the fridge, so, yes, I shucked them and tossed that in too. After adding the lemon juice, I also added some fesh chopped cilantro. Yum! To serve, I cubed the chicken pieces, set them in the center of a good-sized bowl and put slices of fresh avocado on top. Then I put a dollop of sour cream on that. Lastly I sprinkled chopped boiled egg on top. Tis is like a soup recipe from Columbia that one of our exchange students shared with us except theirs had no lentils. Anyway, it was a delicious, filling, fresh-tasting meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
The whole family loved it! I let the lentils soak as stated in several reviews. Also added spinach the last 10 minutes but that's just because we love it! Excellent the way it's written too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mdegges
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Added extra carrots, vegetable broth instead of chicken, fresh cut tomatoes, and a dash of cumin. Served over garlic naan.. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Really good recipe. Made it almost exactly but used boneless and skinless chicken breasts, 1 tsp. of fresh rosemary and forgot to add the lemon juice. Husband proclaimed it "a keeper." This one is going into rotation. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by advancedcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States