Chicken and Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
this recipe was fairly easy and tasty. I used canned chicken and added 1 can of Rotel and 1 can of tomato sauce. I also used oregano and basil instead of rosemary and made the dish a little southwest. Added Monterey jack cheese to the bowl and voila! It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Tasty and easy. I used diced chicken breast and red lentils. Had leftover tomato/mushroom Marsala sauce from a meal I cooked earlier in the week so used that. Added a few splashes of hot sauce to spice it up a little. Garnished with a cheese of my choice. Will make this recipe again. Made enough for several "left over" meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I left out the Salt andRosemary (because i didnt have any!). Used diced tomatoes instead of sauce. Also used chunks of chicken breast instead of bone in chicken. It was GREAT!! First time i ever cooked lentils,i did soak them a bit before cooking. But I will be making this quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Great recipe for non lentil lovers. Put all ingrediance in a crockpot for 6 hours on low. My tweeks: no carrots,petit diced tomatoes 1/2 can and added turmeric and red pepper flake. In the crock pot I added things in this order. 1st layer lentils,onions,tomatoe seasoning and water. Then added skinless chciken thighs season them again and added a few more onion. I adjusted the salt while cooking. Family liked it and they're not lentil fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess sandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I used boneless skinless chicken cut into chunks, no other changes. I make this dish quite often, it is delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
It's a great easy recipe. I've made it multiple times and I love it!!! It's hearty, tasty, home cooked meal. I would recommend it to anyone who is curious about lentils but doesn't know if they'll like the final product. Kids have even given me 2 thumbs up because they loved the taste...which I must say lentils usually wouldn't be one of those foods. Lol I would recommend soaking the lentils overnight or even while chopping veggies...it makes a difference in the cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I made this recipe as is (with the exception of using boneless, skinless chicken breast meat because that's what I already had on hand) and thought it was pretty decent. I also thought it tasted a little better after sitting in the fridge for a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I tried this because I wanted something health conscious (used boneless skinless breasts) and it was amazing! My partner loved and he is a serious picky eater. Will definitely make again! thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmamach

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I give this 5 stars for being cheap, healthy and tasty. I did not have tomato sauce or lemon juice, but it was just fine without. As others suggested, I tossed everything in the crock pot for about 6 hours on high. I used chicken thighs so the meat was really tender and falling apart and the general consistency was almost like a stew. Served it over egg noodles to positive reviews from the entire family, toddler included. Thanks for an easy, healthy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Okay, sorry I just threw a lot of extra stuff from my kitchen in this. First tho, let me suggest you put the lentils on to cook with the chicken broth first, before you do anything else. That way they are softened in plenty of time. After browning the chicken breasts I threw them in a 350 oven while I prepared the rest if the recipe. It takes time to chop a large onion and a few carrots and garlic! It took almost 10 minutes to soften the onions. Instead of tomato sauce i used 2 cups of fresh chopped tomatoes. I had some boiled potatoes on hand so I diced them and added them too. I even had corn on the cob in the fridge, so, yes, I shucked them and tossed that in too. After adding the lemon juice, I also added some fesh chopped cilantro. Yum! To serve, I cubed the chicken pieces, set them in the center of a good-sized bowl and put slices of fresh avocado on top. Then I put a dollop of sour cream on that. Lastly I sprinkled chopped boiled egg on top. Tis is like a soup recipe from Columbia that one of our exchange students shared with us except theirs had no lentils. Anyway, it was a delicious, filling, fresh-tasting meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States