Chicken and Lentils with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This recipe has been updated with a correction from the submitter. The recipe now calls for a package of steamed lentils, not uncooked lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I was looking for a recipe for chicken breasts with bones in (hard to fine these days), and I found this one. I was delighted with the way it turned out. It got raves from my family. The chicken was unusually tender, savory, and piquant. I didn't have seasoning salt on hand, so I improvised with salt, garlic, parsley, paprika, and pepper. Also, I cooked the lentils for twice as long (approx. 40 minutes) as the recipe called for. There were a LOT of lentils, but we'll eat them as a side dish after all the chicken is gone. Thanks for this great, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Really enjoyed this recipe, The kids both ate it all up. I did not add the pimento since I had none. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This was delicious and easy to make! I didn't have Lawry's so in place I used Mrs. Dash/Chicken. I will keep this recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Everyone loved this. I used some extra homemade chicken stock and everyone had a bowl of soup as a side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This dish was very flavorful. My son even ate it up! I used regular balsamic vinegar as I had no white balsamic on hand. I used regular chicken breast without the bone and that is the only change I would make for next time. I would definitely use the bone-in. Otherwise this was fantastic and I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
The chicken was very good and the kids even at it-amazing! But there was way too many lentils for 4 servings. Next time I will cut the lentils in half. But very yummy! Also, I think it would be good with smaller pieces of chicken, like drumsticks and wings, or maybe just chunks of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Yummyyy... made this on Val. day and left out the pimintos (because I didn't have them)and everyone loved it! Even my 9yo sis who hates lentils loved it.. she actually requested that I make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Some people think they need a lot of crazy thing for a good recipe. I think this one kind of goes down that road. There are too many Lentils for this dish. I feel overwhelmed by the protein and fiber. This one needs more carbs!! Maybe some potatoes or noodles... Nah Not noodles. I think that this idea is sound but I don't like using white Balsamic vinegar. It has a harsh flavor and makes me think this recipe was just thrown together instead of thought out. I do like the use of fine chopped carrots though. Most people forget how carrots can lend a light sweetness to a dish that is not overwhelming and makes for a good addition for some easy veggies. Lentils are great but this one just has too many. Also think about how this could be cooked in a casserole dish instead of a skillet. I don't own a skillet big enough to accommodate this much food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn Knight

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Excellent flavor. My kids are not crazy about lentils. I also felt it could use a few less lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a rosemary and ranch-dressing marinade for chicken kabobs.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States