Chicken and Leek Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I'm always trying to make dishes more nutritional, and leeks have a lot of food value. I added 2 minced garlic cloves and a small chopped sweet onion with the chicken. Since I love red bell peppers, I also added a whole chopped pepper with the soup and wine. OMG! This was sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Very easy and tasty for a midweek dinner. I used mushroom soup and topped with Pillsbury Grands instead of pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I was looking to use the leeks I got from the farmer's market This is like a super fast chicken pot pie! My family loved it! I did use chicken broth instead of wine because my kids don't like the taste of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRAJAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
My family loved it and I thought it was ok... nice flavor, the pastry was good with the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Everyone who liked it modified it into an entirely different recipe; very disappointing. I love leeks and find that they were wasted in the vegetable soup. If you want to enjoy it, you'll have to modify it like the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This is more like a chicken pot pie than a chicken casserole. My boyfried really enjoyed it. I added the garlic as suggested and sauteed the leeks first. Used cream of chicken soup and Riesling as the white wine. The slight sweetness of the Riesling really makes a difference in leek dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Absolutely full of flavour. I just followed the recipe and it turned out great. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
My family really enjoyed this. Like another reviewer suggested, I sauteed the leeks in olive oil with some minced garlic. I did add in some steamed broccoli, shredded carrots, and I ended up using cream of chicken soup as I didn't have condensed vegetable soup. I suspect this would work well with many condensed soups, based on your tastes. (I'm considering trying a different one next time, just to see the variation in taste.) But we will definitely be making this again, as my family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyoftheIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Nummy! I just got done with dinner and had 2 helpings! Never have had leeks before and got some from a friend and came across this. Changes- Light cream of chicken soup, sparkling wine( what I had) and some mixed veggies and sauted the leeks in olive oil with fresh garlic. Will definately make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Excellent casserole, thanks for this - I did make some changes though, I used chicken soup, threw in some green beans and carrots and added garlic - and as the reviews suggested sauted the leeks first in olive oil, this is a real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlow, County Carlow, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States