Chicken and Leek Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
This turned out REALLY good. I altered it slightly, but only for my own convenience. Instead of browning the chicken, I pre-baked it for an hour at 350, covered. So, I sauteed the leeks alone until soft, then added the soup and 1 cup of chicken broth (because I didn't want to buy wine), then added the cornstarch and let thicken. Once the chicken was finished, I shredded it, transferred to a square 8 X 8 pyrex baking dish, mixed with the leek/soup mixture, then covered with a single sheet of puff pastry. It turned out very good, just like chicken pot pie. Excellent comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
this was super tasty, and I don't even usually like things like chicken pot pie... i used a can of condensed cream of asparagus instead of vegetable soup, and added some broccoli florets... turned out delicious and actually i thought it looked pretty good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caterwauler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Excellent casserole, thanks for this - I did make some changes though, I used chicken soup, threw in some green beans and carrots and added garlic - and as the reviews suggested sauted the leeks first in olive oil, this is a real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlow, County Carlow, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Absolutely full of flavour. I just followed the recipe and it turned out great. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
My family loved it and I thought it was ok... nice flavor, the pastry was good with the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I was looking to use the leeks I got from the farmer's market This is like a super fast chicken pot pie! My family loved it! I did use chicken broth instead of wine because my kids don't like the taste of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRAJAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2001
Tastes good - added mushrooms is also nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This is more like a chicken pot pie than a chicken casserole. My boyfried really enjoyed it. I added the garlic as suggested and sauteed the leeks first. Used cream of chicken soup and Riesling as the white wine. The slight sweetness of the Riesling really makes a difference in leek dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Very easy and tasty for a midweek dinner. I used mushroom soup and topped with Pillsbury Grands instead of pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I'm always trying to make dishes more nutritional, and leeks have a lot of food value. I added 2 minced garlic cloves and a small chopped sweet onion with the chicken. Since I love red bell peppers, I also added a whole chopped pepper with the soup and wine. OMG! This was sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States