Chicken and Leek Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I'm always trying to make dishes more nutritional, and leeks have a lot of food value. I added 2 minced garlic cloves and a small chopped sweet onion with the chicken. Since I love red bell peppers, I also added a whole chopped pepper with the soup and wine. OMG! This was sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Very easy and tasty for a midweek dinner. I used mushroom soup and topped with Pillsbury Grands instead of pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I was looking to use the leeks I got from the farmer's market This is like a super fast chicken pot pie! My family loved it! I did use chicken broth instead of wine because my kids don't like the taste of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRAJAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
My family loved it and I thought it was ok... nice flavor, the pastry was good with the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Everyone who liked it modified it into an entirely different recipe; very disappointing. I love leeks and find that they were wasted in the vegetable soup. If you want to enjoy it, you'll have to modify it like the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This is more like a chicken pot pie than a chicken casserole. My boyfried really enjoyed it. I added the garlic as suggested and sauteed the leeks first. Used cream of chicken soup and Riesling as the white wine. The slight sweetness of the Riesling really makes a difference in leek dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Absolutely full of flavour. I just followed the recipe and it turned out great. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
My family really enjoyed this. Like another reviewer suggested, I sauteed the leeks in olive oil with some minced garlic. I did add in some steamed broccoli, shredded carrots, and I ended up using cream of chicken soup as I didn't have condensed vegetable soup. I suspect this would work well with many condensed soups, based on your tastes. (I'm considering trying a different one next time, just to see the variation in taste.) But we will definitely be making this again, as my family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyoftheIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Nummy! I just got done with dinner and had 2 helpings! Never have had leeks before and got some from a friend and came across this. Changes- Light cream of chicken soup, sparkling wine( what I had) and some mixed veggies and sauted the leeks in olive oil with fresh garlic. Will definately make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenifer Murrweiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Excellent casserole, thanks for this - I did make some changes though, I used chicken soup, threw in some green beans and carrots and added garlic - and as the reviews suggested sauted the leeks first in olive oil, this is a real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlow, County Carlow, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States