Chicken and Herbs in White Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kershey5
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
this was great.....I think that with any cook you must season to taste and I did just that and it did not take away from the original recipe. IT WAS GREAT....added a lil chilly pepper in the pot while the chicken was browning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kershey5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
My family LOVED this. The all of the seasonings made a very tasty gravy, and the chicken was so tender. I used an oven roaster and did it in the oven. I skipped mixing the seasonings in a bowl...and just sprinkled them right onto the roaster to my hearts content, and then poured in the broth & wine (really not having a problem with overwhelming greenness). I also added potatoes & carrots in with the shrooms and onion. Good eats lilsis, and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I cooked this for my boyfriend's family and they loved it! When I cooked the onions & mushrooms, I threw the chicken in with it which gave it GREAT flavoring. I served bowtie pasta with Bertolli alfredo sauce..which kinda drowned the wonderful flavor of the chicken. I reccomend eating with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahkathryn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This is a great dish. I made it with boneless chicken breast. I froze some for future dinners. I serve it over Carolina seasoned rice (the brown one sold in a long tube-like bag). My husband likes it and my 3 year old even eats it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I've made something similar over the yrs. but this adds more spices. Will make again often. So easy too !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was a wonderful dish for the winter months. I made the gravy and mash pototoes w/ string beans. Chicken thighs works best. The flavor is awsome. Easy, quick and guest will think you cooked all day. .smile
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dwayne Xavier Bull

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I forgot to pick up mushrooms while at the grocery store, so I made this reciepe without it. I did make the sauce into a gravy with flour and water. I topped fresh cut green onions over it and served it with wheat pasta. The chicken was so tender and juicy! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
My family's been making a variation of this recipe for 60 years, and it's always great. A couple of tips. For those of you having trouble with chicken color, you must BROWN your chicken well before moving to next steps. Bone-in chicken holds up best. For the dried herbs, soak them in hot water 1/2 hr and hydrate them--use water 2-1 vs dry herbs--with fork, squeeze off excess water. Add hydrated herb mixture to mushroom/onion mixture while it's cooking, along with fresh minced garlic. Add wine and chicken broth. Bring to simmer. Salt and pepper to taste. No need for all those extra bowls.. Return chicken pieces to covered dutch oven, and bake for 45 min @ 350. So easy, so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This turned out to be an excellent meal. As with any recipe you need to adjust the spices to your taste, which is why I started out with half the amount of spices and added more as I saw fit. I also did not get scary white or green chicken at all. The presentation was beautiful. I made this with wings and thighs, and the broth made an excellent gravy for rice. I do not recommend using wings, but a fleshier pieces if you go that route, like breasts or thighs. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Added red peppers, green and black olives, EVERYONE loved it! Served it with the noodles and it was terrific! Next time I will roast the peppers. Also used minced garlic and the powered garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States