Chicken and Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This was good but not great. I felt that the recipe had 3 flaws - too much ham, too much sauce and not enough noodles. Thankfully I had cooked extra noodles so I added them in but it still wasn't enough. And the ham overpowered the dish...it's all I could taste. I might make again but will modify accordingly. Couldn't eat it again as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This is a good casserole to use up leftovers. In my case, I used all ham in the recipe. I increased the ingredients to make servings for 6 as I wanted to freeze a small casserole dish. This dish came together easily and was enjoyed by my family. I would make this again if I had ham and or chicken to use up. I served this with lettuce salad and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Thought I would try this, as I needed to use up some leftover ham and chicken. It turned out ok although very creamy which didn't appeal and also it lacked something, but not sure what. My husband loved it however but I told him to enjoy, as he won't be seeing it on the table again. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This turned out very good. I used about 2 cups of cooked noodles, 1 cup chicken, and 1 cup ham. I also added 1 cup of frozen mixed vegetables. With those changes, it's a good meal for two people. I lowered the calorie count by using skim milk and fat free cheese. Still tasted great! The paprika adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.blanke

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
yummy!!!!!!!! i sustituted the celery for raw greenbeans and instead of parika i sprinkled ground cayanne pepper on top. also, you can use any mild cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Very yummy! Replaced the milk with a can of mushroom soup. Added a chopped onion, chives, and terragon. Did not have celery, but turned out great! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I read several times that this recipe would not feed 4 people--well it says it serves 2. Which I was looking for. I used spinach noodles, sauted onion, yellow pepper & mushrooms. Made the white sauce as read. Added toasted slivered almonds. Did use Panko--as I always do for bread crumbs on top of anything. Didn't taste like leftovers at all! Even some left over for hubby's lunch tomorrow. Worked for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This was a really good comfort food! Even hubby liked it and he is not a casserole person. I did take some other reviewers suggestions. I added garlic powder, dry mustard and crushed red paper flakes (didn't have cayenne pepper) to the the milk mixture. Then I added a can of cream of mushroom soup. I didn't have any celery so I used some leftover green beans and wax beans for color. I also used panko flakes/bread crumbs with the cheese mixture. A keeper in our house!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parkville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I thought this was really yummy. I just used ham (trying to get rid of some leftovers). I added a little cheese to the "sauce" after it had thickened up (a little velveeta because that's what I had). Also added some seasoning to the white sauce (paprika, red pepper, black pepper). This was a hearty, comforting sort of casserole. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I get amused at the reviews. Some change them so much that there is littleof the original left. I substituted the equivalent of !/2 package of leftover cheese mac with burger for the noodles, added cream of chicken soup for the sauce, left out the chicken, added sauteed onion and broccoli and celery, topped with cream of chicken soup and Panko bread crumbs, shredded cheddar,ample pepper and paprika, baked in medium dish for 30 minutes then a little longer, then served. Everyone liked it. Wonderful recipe. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States