Chicken and Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was soooo good! I'll give it 4 stars though, simply because I changed quite a few things (like everyone else!). I used about 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/4 cup lite mayo. Used cream of mushroom soup instead and frozen french cut green beans. I browned the chicken with garlic salt and pepper until almost completely cooked through. Also added 1/2 cup or so of shredded monterrey jack into the soup mixture. Served it with angel hair pasta. We thought this was great comfort food, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Made this for dinner tonight...was a little skeptical...but my husband loved it. He said it was like something you would get in a fine italian restuarant. He is right! Delicious served over angel hair pasta!!! Will add to my favorites! I would like to add that if you have picky eaters, combine the soup, mayo and garlic, cheese and mix....brown the chicken and cook until almost cooked...then place chicken in dish and cover with soup mixture...then serve green beans (personal favorite for this diah if made this way) on the side. I find that even picky eaters will try it this way and end up saying...I think I would like this with the beans in it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
Great recipe. Easy, too. Tastes even better the next day. The first time I made this, it came out watery and the chicken was not done. The second time, I cut the chicken into smaller pieces before browning, added the parmesan to the soup mixture and sprinkled a little more over the top. I also increased my oven temperature. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This was really good!! The sauce is awesome! I didn't have the time to make this into a casserole, so I put it in the slow cooker. I put the chicken in the bottom, topped the chicken with the green beans. Then I added the wet ingredients to the top. I cooked the whole thing on high for about 2 1/2 to 3 hours. The chicken was really moist and not dried out. My kids loved this. I was happy because they even ate the green beans! I would for sure make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allison Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
Very goood! After having it a few times, we decided to use cream of mushroom soup instead. It was wonderful. We also use frozen beans instead of canned. I found that you need to brown the chicken til it is almost cooked or it will take alot longer in the oven. This is one of my husbands favorite dishes now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Excellent. I used chicken tenders instead of breasts. Since other people said it came out soupy I drained the greenbeans & did not cover it while it was baking & I had no problems. Looked great & tasted even better. I also add mushrooms when I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
I made this using fresh french green beans and it turned out great. It was very simple and quick to prepare and it makes a great hearty meal. My husband and young daughter also loved it. They were fighting over the leftovers the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
Made this with Miracle Whip instead of mayo, but otherwise followed the recipe; served over buttered egg noodles. Family response: eh. I'm not throwing this one out completely, but will save it for when I don't have ingredients for anything else. I'd recommend substituting sour cream or plain yogurt for part of the mayo, and adding some extra parmesan on top to make a crispy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
My husband is tired of eating chicken from me trying to diet. Even he liked it very much. Very Good! I used light Mayo and did not put over mash potatoes, but the next time for sure over potatoes! oops I forgot the garlic powder. Bet that makes it even better! A must try... I had to change this to 5 star. I want this at least once every other week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Yummmmmm!!! Perfect when you have green beans that need to be used and you probably have the other ingredients around the house. We us fresh green beans, cook them first, serve with rice, and follow other suggestions of browning the chicken sprinkled with garlic powder and pepper. I love that I can make it earlier in the day or the night before, and then it only has to go from the fridge to the oven to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Auburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States