Chicken and Gnocchi Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This was love at first bite! I’ve made this several times and each time it’s been fabulous, although I must confess that I double the amount of spinach. That’s my favorite part of the soup! As they say, all good things take time. It never hurts to let the vegetables and chicken simmer for a longer period of time so all of the flavors have ample time to absorb into the broth. Another tip is to use well seasoned chicken. That, too, will give it additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I added frozen spinach instead of fresh, and did not want to add the cornstarch, and perhaps that made my broth watery. I thought that the end result was a bit bland, not savory enough for our tastes. I would recommend adding more garlic, as well as ample pepper and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
We love this soup! Reading the ingredients, it doesn't seem like it would have a whole lotta flavor, but indeed it does! Make sure you get the mini gnocchi and not the larger ones, because they are way too big for this delicate soup. It is so yummy and even better the next day. Use the entire amount of spinach, as well. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debgarben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carteret, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This recipe tastes exactly like my mom's chicken and dumpling recipe only it's takes 1/20th of the time. All my picky eaters loved it. Would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Very good starting point. I think in the future, I will chop up the spinach so it's not in such large chunks... Also, this didn't turn out as thick as I would've liked. I think next time I'll do a roux. Maybe add some rosemary. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
We liked this, it's on the "keeper" list. I added a little more liquid but that seems to be common for me lately so I'm calling it personal preference. I made homemade squash gnocchi, evaporated milk for the cream and added the spinach at the end because we don't like it too cooked in soups. The shredded carrots were a nice touch that I have never used before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
We all really enjoyed this. I could not find gnocchi anywhere! Sad, because we love gnocci. I wasn't really feeling up to the task of making homemade gnocchi, so I just opted to replace it with tortellini. Skipped the celery and cornstarch slurry, but did thicken it with some tapioca flour. Delicious! Everyone gobbled it down, including my currently somewhat picky one-year-old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookieEater
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This recipe gives you a great starting point, but I think it stops short. It begs for some fresh herbs, or perhaps a roasted chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieEater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
We loved this soup!!! I added more celery and carrots, so I also added more broth. So easy, and a great use of leftover chicken I had in the freezer. Delicious, hearty, and comforting. This will be added to our regular rotation. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This was pretty darn good! I used only 2 stalks celery and one big carrot, and for some reason I could only find rice gnocchi at the store this time, so I used that. It was a different texture than the potato gnocchi, but worked fine for a soup. I skipped the cornstarch slurry as I prefer brothier soups, and the gnocchi made it thick enough for me anyway. I also used almost one cup heavy cream because I had it in my fridge, and added a splash of milk too. I didn't find it too bland, but I did add a fair amount of salt and pepper since there was no other spices. It was great for dipping crusty French bread in. I'd make this again. Even though I made it on a Sunday this time, it's quick enough for a weeknight with using leftover chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 459) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States