Chicken and Garlic Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
A family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This dish is edible, but I did not like it at all. For a recipe that should have so much flavor, it lacks a lot! I thought the recipe would have more of a roasted garlic taste.But mine was a bitter, pungent garlic taste. We are garlic lover's, that's why I tried the recipe. But this is not what I had hoped it would be. As far as appearance, I would not serve this to company! It took some coaching even to get my kids to try it. They said it was okay, but "Don't make this again."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Excellent! We found the blend of flavors to be very good. I added some lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
We did not like this. I made exactly did not change a thing. Too much tarragon and wine,not enough spices. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
WoW! I love garlic but I had to pick my mouth up from the ground after reading the amount of garlic...I made this recipe in a 9 x 13 pan instead of a pot....It turned out excellent .....and next time I will use boneless... Thank you...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YRUNMYSHT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
Dangerous combination: Way too much salt and yet, not a lot of flavor! I'm not even sure what to recommend to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
The combination of spices was a little to strange for me I guess. The amount of garlic was fine, but the cinnamon, tarragon, and wine was an unpleasant mix of flavors. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Good point-it was very tender. However it was not really garlic-y and not very flavorful. If I were to ever make it again, I'd definately add more spices. I served it to company, and they compared it to simple stewed chicken--what you get before you flavor it and start making the chicken and dumplings, soup or etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
Totally overpowering. No matter what the author of this recipe may say, the amount of garlic used is immense. Unless you are a chain smoker your taste buds will be utterly devastated by this recipe. I made it for myself to test it out and almost had to throw the thing out, the flavor was so overpowering. Cutting the amount of garlic in half may work, however, the overall dish would be nothing special. Don;t expect this one to be the cure-all for your left-over thigh blues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
I made this recipe in a 9 x 13 pan instead of a pot. It turned out excellent. Your friends may complain about the state of your breath but that's a small price to pay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States