Chicken and Fresh Tomato Slow Cooker Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This a very good Italian-tasting stew. I used one tomato soup & one sauce. I also omitted the red paper flakes, just not a fan. I did not need to add any water, and there was just the right amount of broth. It did take a long time for the veggies to soften. Mine took a total of 7 hours of cook time. Would make again, just cut the veggies smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I served the stew with noodles. The stew was too salty for my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
It was good - with a few modifications. I used bone-in skinless leg quarters instead of breasts; substituted sweet potatoes for regular potatoes, and didn't add any extra liquid. Also added a few cloves of fresh garlic, salt, and pepper. The consistency was that of a hearty chicken & tomato stew - no sides needed. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I tweaked just a bit. Canned tomatoes drained. Dried herbs as I am out of Italian seasoning..After 6 hours on a low setting chicken fell apart and veggies were perfect. Rate this a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I try my very best to prepare the recipes from this site exactly as written because, from my understanding, that's what ratings are for -- to let each of us know exactly how good each recipe truly is as it is written. With that said, I did prepare this one as written and I feel I'm being generous in giving it 3 stars. The only reason I gave as many as 3 is that I can see that with some modifications this can be a truly excellent dish! My slow cooker needed no additional liquid added to keep the chicken covered during the entire 8 hours, thankfully. The resulting broth was thin and quite tasteless. Before making this I had the feeling that it was going to be quite bland -- and I was right. It had very little flavor. I do love the combination of vegetables and chicken but the sauce/broth needed a LOT of help. I won't use Italian seasoning in this when I make it again, but will substitute thyme and will also add other seasonings such as garlic powder or garlic salt, etc. I admit that once the cooking was done and I had sampled some of the broth, I did add a little sugar to brighten up the bland tomato flavor and threw in some garlic salt as well. Since I was making this to put up as freezer meals, I let it sit in a large bowl in the fridge overnight before dividing and freezing in portions. I decided to give it a taste the next morning beforehand and it was delicious and flavorful with the sugar & garlic salt having been added. So DO make this stew but do your own doctoring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeniOM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
did not like all the canned tomatoes I put in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I tried this today, using what I had in the house. I used a drained can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh ones, and I added some chopped celery and cabbage. I used a packet of Good Seasons Italian dressing instead of Italian seasoning.. gets away from an Italian flavor and encourages a little doctoring for a mild sweet and tangy mode. I added a little sugar and three times the red pepper flakes suggested. I served this in a soup bowl with crusty bread and butter. Hearty, comforting and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I made it yesterday with just a few changes from the original recipe: 1. I made it on the stove instead of in a slow cooker. Took about 4 hours instead of 7. 2. I added 1 can of diced tomatoes in addition to the fresh cut tomatoes the recipe called for. 3. I didn't peel the potatoes. All the vitamins are there :) 4. I used boneless, skinless chicken breast and thighs - 5 pieces. The chicken shredded beautifully and the sauce was a touch soupy - like a stew, but that's what I was looking for. I made some rice to go with it and my family loved it! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I had much the same results as some other reviewers--too much liquid. So I added rice to soak it up. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
only okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States