Chicken and Dumplings IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I made a couple of changes. I put 2 onions, half stalk celery and garlic cloves in cheese cloth and tied with kitchen string and placed in the pot with the water and chicken to season. I also added one 32 ounce box of chicken broth to the water once the chicken was almost cooked to add more flavor to the broth. No need to strain. When chicken is done simply remove flavor packet and discard. I substituted sour cream with buttermilk to make the dumplings more southern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
A great comfort food meal! Thank you for a chicken and dumpling recipe like my grandma made!! I hate cream of anything soup, so this recipe was great. I did add thyme and sage. I probably added more cornstarch because I didn't know how much water to start with. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norton Shores, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ada, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I had turkey in the freezer, I used that instead of chicken. I also added carrot and peas. I modified the dumplings a bit, by adding fresh parsley and baking powder. This was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serena shultz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fortuna, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I upmost agree that it is nice to find this recipe that does not include condensed soup or anything of the sort... Trying to find a recipe as close to my grandmother as possible and this is it! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakdale, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
When I was growing up, chicken and dumplings was my favorite dish at school - but instead of actual dumplings, they had pasta noodles. Unfortunately, this experience has colored my opinion of this soup. While I absolutely thrilled with how the soup turned out, I wasn't too thrilled with the dumpling portion of it - it was too bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This is a great traditional recipe! Easy and delicious. I was looking for something that was easy but wholesome! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I thought this recipe was great i add chicken broth to mine as well but this has very good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I heart cooking :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Oh my! I am a southern girl who loves chicken and dumplings. Now that I am on my own, I crave them sometimes and don't have mom or granny to make them. This was sooo super easy (easy enough for a weeknight!) and delicious. I know granny spent all day on hers, but why if I can make them any night of the week? Plus, I had EVERYTHING on hand. I used fat free sour cream. And, I measured out how much water I put in my pot. My pot took about 10-11 cups. So, I added 10-11 bouillon cubes. After the bouillon dissolved, I used 1/2 c of that for my dumplings. I used the seasonings to taste, but with all the chicken bouillon, it didn't take much of everything. I also added a little garlic powder, used celery seed instead of celery, and used a little thyme. Since I don't like mine too thick, I made 1/2 of the cornstach mixture, but only used 1/4-1/2 of it. They definitely thicken even more on cooling, and stay a little thick after reheating the next day. Thanks so much for making a delicious childhood favorite a possibility for a busy, working, student far from home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is a good recipe to start with, but it does need a little tweaking. I added peas and carrots, but I wish I'd added some garlic. I will next time. I found the dough to be a little sticky. I had to work a good amount of flour into it to be able to pat it out and cut it. The directions don't say how thick to roll the dough. I rolled mine to about 1/4 inch. These remind me more of homemade noodles than dumplings, though. Next time I will cut the liquid to 1/4 cup and roll them thinner. Thanks for a good base recipe (that doesn't use cream of something soup...) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Agree with other posts - dumplings were thick and rubbery. The broth was bland and requires a whole lot of something else. Also, the directions were inconsistent and confusing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Boy R Keith

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States