Chicken and Dumplings IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
thank you for the only chix and dump recipe that doesn't call for canned condensed soups or other nonsense like that. i live outside the US and can't find that stuff here, so thanks for a wholesome, stick to your ribs, REAL HOMEMADE recipe. ¡buenisimo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
Just like my mother used to make. With rolled out dumplings cooked in a wonderful stock. No short cuts to goodness here...outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MR. YO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rutledge, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2000
This is one of the best recipes I have ever made. Very easy to prepare even though I have never made dumplings before. My 2 year old loved it as well as my picky brother in law.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MitzieX6

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
This was about as good as one could possibly ask for in a low fat chicken and dumplings recipe. The wife and I both loved it. As for the amount of water used, I filled an 8 quart pot about half way up with water then added the chicken, celery, onion and some poultry seasoning after it came to a boil. That worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
GREAT, I didnt have any cerlery so I added a can of cream of celery and some cerlery spice to it and it tasted great. Plus I cooked the chicken before I added it and it shortened the time to about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I have tried to make chicken and dumplings a million times and the dumplings always tasted like a clump of dough. This recipe has been a Godsend! I highly reccomend this recipe if you have trouble with dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
A fantastic "down home" chicken and dumplings recipe that's easy enough for a beginner! At the suggestion of other reviews, I added a quarter teaspoon of sage and thyme and omitted the parsley... it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaBear

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This recipe was awesome! I had never made homemade chicken and dumplings before, and this recipe was easy, and wonderful! I did have a couple of problems that I had to change though. For the dumplings, 2 cups of flour was not enough, the dough was way to sticky. I had to add an extra cup. Also, I used roughly 10 cups of water, and 8 buillon cubes instead of 4. I didn't use parsley, I used thyme and added garlic powder as well. In the end when I thickened it, I used milk instead of water. My husband and I both loved it, I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBEREP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is as good, if not better, than the same-named dish a that barrel place!! My kids had a great time making the dumplings, which they cut with a pizza cutter. I use whole chicken breast tenderloins, and I cut down the amount of cornstarch. And when the kids don't want the celery & onions IN the final dish-I just cook the chicken with those things cut in half so they can be fished out easily before adding the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Oh my! I am a southern girl who loves chicken and dumplings. Now that I am on my own, I crave them sometimes and don't have mom or granny to make them. This was sooo super easy (easy enough for a weeknight!) and delicious. I know granny spent all day on hers, but why if I can make them any night of the week? Plus, I had EVERYTHING on hand. I used fat free sour cream. And, I measured out how much water I put in my pot. My pot took about 10-11 cups. So, I added 10-11 bouillon cubes. After the bouillon dissolved, I used 1/2 c of that for my dumplings. I used the seasonings to taste, but with all the chicken bouillon, it didn't take much of everything. I also added a little garlic powder, used celery seed instead of celery, and used a little thyme. Since I don't like mine too thick, I made 1/2 of the cornstach mixture, but only used 1/4-1/2 of it. They definitely thicken even more on cooling, and stay a little thick after reheating the next day. Thanks so much for making a delicious childhood favorite a possibility for a busy, working, student far from home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States