Chicken and Dumplings IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2000
This is one of the best recipes I have ever made. Very easy to prepare even though I have never made dumplings before. My 2 year old loved it as well as my picky brother in law.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MitzieX6

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2000
I didn't like the flavor the sour cream gave the dumplings. However, overall, it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
thank you for the only chix and dump recipe that doesn't call for canned condensed soups or other nonsense like that. i live outside the US and can't find that stuff here, so thanks for a wholesome, stick to your ribs, REAL HOMEMADE recipe. ¡buenisimo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
The dumplings are good. Not like my Great Grandfathers, But good. Did not taste the sour cream and is a good alternative to shortening or lard. I added two bay leaves to the broth, YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Wonderful comfort food. My only complaint would be that it was a little on the bland side. I added some thyme and sage to the broth, and it turned out just fantastic. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
Just like my mother used to make. With rolled out dumplings cooked in a wonderful stock. No short cuts to goodness here...outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MR. YO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rutledge, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
This was really good my children loved it, even the very little ones. It was so rich you would never think it was low fat. I will be makeing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
Decent recipe but with a few holes. I wasn't sure how much water to simmer the chicken in or when to put in the onion. I used the directions for the bullion (1 cube for 1 cup of water) but was disappointed with how salty the finished result was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
GREAT, I didnt have any cerlery so I added a can of cream of celery and some cerlery spice to it and it tasted great. Plus I cooked the chicken before I added it and it shortened the time to about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
This was about as good as one could possibly ask for in a low fat chicken and dumplings recipe. The wife and I both loved it. As for the amount of water used, I filled an 8 quart pot about half way up with water then added the chicken, celery, onion and some poultry seasoning after it came to a boil. That worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States