Chicken and Dumplings IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I added spice and baking powder to the dumplings, but they were still too thick and rubbery. The flavor of the broth was good (although I added cayanne pepper, seasoning salt, and carrots), but I MUST continue looking for a better recipe for the dumplings, which were OK, edible, but disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This turned out pretty good - the dumplings were great (love me some flat dumplings!) I did add carrots and some thyme. I also used homemade stock instead of bullion that was in my freezer and needed to be used up. Thanks for the dumplings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is as good, if not better, than the same-named dish a that barrel place!! My kids had a great time making the dumplings, which they cut with a pizza cutter. I use whole chicken breast tenderloins, and I cut down the amount of cornstarch. And when the kids don't want the celery & onions IN the final dish-I just cook the chicken with those things cut in half so they can be fished out easily before adding the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I followed the recipe...the chicken was great....the dumplings were horrible. They didn't "fluff" up at all....actually they became dough bricks that sunk to the bottom. I recommend the chicken portion..although I did add fresh garlic for flavor....the dumplings were hard and heavy. I will make the chicken part again, but will use a different dumpling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonysgdbg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I think this recipe has the best ingredients for a light and fluffy dumpling. The dough should be just past the sticky stage (does that make sense?) and should feel soft. I hand shred my chicken and make short strips of dumplings. Remember, you need a lot of salt and pepper to make this dish, but I know some Louisiana folks who add some creole seasoning for some kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I should have paid more attention to the previous review and added baking powder to the dumpling mix. Dumplings were chewy blobs. I wanted to follow the recipe as it was written. My only change was browning the chicken pieces in the pot first to add a little extra flavor. I need to find a recipe that does not call for a mix as I am not in the States & don't have access to most premade mixes & soups. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Isn't there an error in this recipe? I expected it to have baking powder in the biscuit dough. The dumplings were heavy without it. I think it should be added in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This recipe was awesome! I had never made homemade chicken and dumplings before, and this recipe was easy, and wonderful! I did have a couple of problems that I had to change though. For the dumplings, 2 cups of flour was not enough, the dough was way to sticky. I had to add an extra cup. Also, I used roughly 10 cups of water, and 8 buillon cubes instead of 4. I didn't use parsley, I used thyme and added garlic powder as well. In the end when I thickened it, I used milk instead of water. My husband and I both loved it, I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBEREP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
A fantastic "down home" chicken and dumplings recipe that's easy enough for a beginner! At the suggestion of other reviews, I added a quarter teaspoon of sage and thyme and omitted the parsley... it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaBear

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States