Chicken and Dumplings IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Absolutely wonderful recipe! I did change a couple of things and it made it a lot easier. First, I used a large can of chicken broth (48 oz)and then added water to make the 6 cups of liquid. The chicken broth gave it a lovely flavor. Also, I added carrots and celery with the chicken and just simmered all of it for appox. 30 minutes. (instead of taking the chicken out, cutting it up and putting it back in to cook more). Lastly, I used 1/4 cup cornstarch mixed with a little water to thicken the broth, instead of the flour. It blends in so much easier! This recipe is so good and easy, I will be making it many times this winter. My husband and sons LOVED it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This was great! I have been looking for a recipe like my mom's southern chicken and dumplings, and this is it! I used 3 chicken breasts with ribs instead of breasts, and boiled them with an onion wedge, rib of celery, 2 cups chopped carrots, and 1 tsp. salt for 30 minutes, then removed the onion and celery. Because the chicken is already cooked, I skipped step 2. I next added 4 more cups water (and another tsp. salt) because it seemed like too much chicken for the amount of broth (would do that again!). For the thickening, I used 1/3 cup flour and 1/2 cup milk (milk instead of water - makes it more creamy). I also added 1/2 tsp. poultry seasoning, and 1/4 tsp. pepper, as others suggested. I cooked the dumplings for 25 minutes total (lid off, so that it thickened); otherwise, they weren't done enough. I also threw in a cup of frozen peas, about 5 minutes before serving. Nice addition of color (and veggies). Great comfort food! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
OH MY YUMMIES!!! First of all, I live in Texas and as I am writing this it is 100 degrees. However, we wanted some comfort food so I made this recipe! HOLY GOSH was it TERRIFIC!! As others, I did make some substitution: instead of water, I used 1 box of low sodium Chicken Broth, and half a box of chicken stock. I added to the broth 1 clove of chopped garlic, some celery, carrots, and a bit of onion powder (didn't have an onion) in addition to the salt and pepper. Then I added one can of the healthy cream of chicken soup before kicking it up to a boil to add the dumplings. After the dumplings were in, I mixed about 1 Tbsp. of cornstarch with some broth and added it to thicken. So wonderful and I highly recommend (even in the heat of the summer! just turn up your A/C and enjoy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I used this recipe and my family loved it. Upon expermenting, I used pancake mix for all-purpose mix. It was obviously a little sweeter, but had more taste than just the flour. My family loves the pancake mix version better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I boiled a whole chicken so I'd have more stock to cook in. Other than that, I didn't change a thing. I used LOTS of salt and pepper and I didn't think it was bland at all. This is the first time I've ever made chicken n' dumplings and they turned out great. I did add the "dumplings" very slowly so I wouldn't end up with a big, gooey glob. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
Boneless skinless breasts are quick and convenient, but they make a pretty bad broth by themselves. I used canned chicken broth instead of water to help that issue. A few carrots and celery don't hurt either. This is a good base recipe but needs adjusted to add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
My husband loved this which is a huge plus since I love dumplings. I did add carrots and celery, 6 bouillon cubes and some garlic powder to the dumplings. It turned out beautifully. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESSENCE009

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Reedsburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2002
Thanks for this recipe!!! I made it a few steps faster using 2 large cans of canned chicken breast meat and 2 cans of chicken broth (then added water to make 6 cups). I was in a time bind for getting dinner ready! I've never made chicken and dumplings before, your recipe is terrific! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
used chicken broth like other users suggested. Added a littel Fond de Veau, onions, and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2005
LOVE this recipe! It is sooo easy. I happened to have made (from allrecipes.com) 'beer butt chicken' the night before so I had the remaining chicken carcase. I boiled the chicken for about 30 minutes and removed all the remaining meat from the bones. I seasoned with seasoned pepper, minced onion (because it was easier), parsley, dash of garlic and kosher salt. I also used WONDRA for thickening. VOILA! I had home-made chicken and dumplings... tasted just like what mom would make. Next time, I'll be sure to add the celery and carrots. This was great... thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States