Chicken and Dumplings IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
With a few modifications, this tasted just like my mom's recipe! I boiled the chicken in 4 cups of chicken broth, 2 cups of cream of celery soup and 1 cup of water. I also added carrots, half a tsp of ground cumin and half a tsp of garlic powder. This will definitely be added to my winter comfort food rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I changed the recipe up a bit, but it turned out excellent! I used chicken broth to boil the chicken, instead of water, and I added a few cloves of garlic with the chicken. I also added a few other random seasonings that I had in the cupboard. The last thing I changed was that I didn't add the flour and water to thicken the soup, because the dumplings thickened it plenty. I had been looking for an easy chicken and dumpling recipe, and this was it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miles City, Montana, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Dumplings were gummy lumps and had no taste. I tried adding 1/2 tsp salt and 1 1/2 tsp baking powder to flour mixture but did not help. Perhaps I like my dumplings different from the other raters. My husband disliked it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
i have been making chicken and dumplings for awhile now..but, i have always used the store bought dumplings..i have been wanting to make them homeade..this dumpling recipe was PERFECT! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Excellant taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Love this recipe..very close to how I make mine but tried it this way and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
My family loved it. I did add celery and onion and used the cornstarch instead of the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Great recipe and easily adaptable to personal taste. I used seasoned chicken broth to replace water,then added leftover rotisserie chicken, carrots, peas, mushrooms and onion. I thickened the mixture with skim milk and flour instead of water. Love the dumplings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I was looking for a recipe to recreate what my grandmother used to make when I was little. I used chicken broth instead of water, and added green onions, carrots, parsley, and celery. Turned out amazing, and I couldn't be happier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Very tasty, but I made a few adjustments, reason for 4 stars. I cooked the chicken in chicken broth. I didn't add flour and water to the soup because the dumplings thicken it anyway. Also, I mixed chicken stock instead of milk to the baking mix so the dumplings would have a chicken flavor. My family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States