Chicken and Dumplings IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
first review is very helpful since i added vegetables that aren't in the original recipe. see personal note for added extras
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I changed a few things but overall, this is easy, quick, and tasty. I used cornstarch and water as my thickener. Instead of water, I used Penzey's soup base. I added carrots, onion, and celery for flavor. Bisquick for the dumplings. This was a yummy weekday meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Nice and easy receipe. Hall all of the ingredients on hand. I boiled breasts in chicken broth and added a can od cream of mushroom soup. After shredding the chicken I omitted the butter but added italian seasonings, garlic, and celery seed to the soup. My guys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
My fiance really liked it, but I wasn't too fond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tashawna
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This was a HUGE hit with my family!! I made quite a few changes to the recipe, to fit the ingredients that I had on hand. I used two boneless/skinless chicken breasts. I boiled them in chicken broth, with an additional 2 cups of water/chicken bouillon. To the broth, I added some garlic salt, chopped onion, a dash of italian seasoning, and parsley. I let this boil for an hour, and then shredded the chicken. I added the butter, and also a can of peas, and a can of carrots and let return to a boil. I let boil for an additional hour, before adding 1/2 cup cornstarch mixed in 1 cup water, and returned to a boil. I made the dumplings and dropped them in to cover the top of my mixture. I let this cook, uncovered for 25 minutes. I let the whole thing sit 15 minutes before serving. This made enough to serve 4 grown adults, and my toddler, with some leftovers!! I will definately be making this again! I only rated it a 4 because of all my changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashawna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Effingham, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Uber yummy! This was the first time I have ever tried making this. I brought it to a potluck and it was gone in no time at all. I received many compliments, as well. Just plain good food. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WifeyJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cannon Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Holy ! Not only was this SUPER tasty, but it was the closest to my grandmother's than I've ever found! Had to add more water to cover the chicken, so I added one chicken boullion cube to make up the difference. Also did a half water half milk mix with the flour to thicken. FANTASTIC! I wish I could pick 6 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This was my first time ever making chicken and dumplings and this recipe was simple and delicious. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lacey R.
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This recipe is wonderful. I thought it was easy and delicious! Instead of water I used chicken broth and I think next time I will use an extra 2 cups or so because I didn't think it had enough liquid. I also added carrots and celery. It was a huge hit and I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey R.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States