Chicken and Dumplings IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
first review is very helpful since i added vegetables that aren't in the original recipe. see personal note for added extras
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I changed a few things but overall, this is easy, quick, and tasty. I used cornstarch and water as my thickener. Instead of water, I used Penzey's soup base. I added carrots, onion, and celery for flavor. Bisquick for the dumplings. This was a yummy weekday meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Nice and easy receipe. Hall all of the ingredients on hand. I boiled breasts in chicken broth and added a can od cream of mushroom soup. After shredding the chicken I omitted the butter but added italian seasonings, garlic, and celery seed to the soup. My guys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
My fiance really liked it, but I wasn't too fond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tashawna
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This was a HUGE hit with my family!! I made quite a few changes to the recipe, to fit the ingredients that I had on hand. I used two boneless/skinless chicken breasts. I boiled them in chicken broth, with an additional 2 cups of water/chicken bouillon. To the broth, I added some garlic salt, chopped onion, a dash of italian seasoning, and parsley. I let this boil for an hour, and then shredded the chicken. I added the butter, and also a can of peas, and a can of carrots and let return to a boil. I let boil for an additional hour, before adding 1/2 cup cornstarch mixed in 1 cup water, and returned to a boil. I made the dumplings and dropped them in to cover the top of my mixture. I let this cook, uncovered for 25 minutes. I let the whole thing sit 15 minutes before serving. This made enough to serve 4 grown adults, and my toddler, with some leftovers!! I will definately be making this again! I only rated it a 4 because of all my changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashawna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Effingham, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Uber yummy! This was the first time I have ever tried making this. I brought it to a potluck and it was gone in no time at all. I received many compliments, as well. Just plain good food. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WifeyJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cannon Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Holy ! Not only was this SUPER tasty, but it was the closest to my grandmother's than I've ever found! Had to add more water to cover the chicken, so I added one chicken boullion cube to make up the difference. Also did a half water half milk mix with the flour to thicken. FANTASTIC! I wish I could pick 6 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This was my first time ever making chicken and dumplings and this recipe was simple and delicious. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lacey R.
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This recipe is wonderful. I thought it was easy and delicious! Instead of water I used chicken broth and I think next time I will use an extra 2 cups or so because I didn't think it had enough liquid. I also added carrots and celery. It was a huge hit and I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey R.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States