Chicken and Dumplings IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
a little band for my husband and me, but my five year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Made with a few suggested additions (based on personal preferences) and was a huge success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrewandvictoria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I used chicken broth instead of water, and added some thyme, rosemary, and carrots (we're not big celery fans). I also added some rosemary to the dumplings to give them a little extra flavor, and I didn't bother to remove and shred the chicken -- I just cut it into small pieces before putting it into the pot. I've tried this twice: once with flour and once with cornstarch. Something about the texture wasn't quite right either time, so I doubt I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This was so very good and easy to make. I used Bisquick for the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This was great and easy to "throw" together, however, I read some reviews and also added things. I used 4 cups chicken broth and 2 cups water. I added chopped onion, celery and carrots to the broth along with 3 boneless chicken breasts. I thickened it and then added the shredded chicken, then the dumplings, I thought it had great flavor and my husband liked it too. Will definetly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
After making this I just did not 'get' all the rave reviews. I read many of the reviews again and realized most ratings were based on additions the reviewer made---this was so bland as written and with all the additions I ended up with it became a totally different recipe. In short, added chicken bouillon, poultry seasoning, minced garlic, Cavender's Greek seasoning, 2 cans of Cream of chicken soup and with these additions it saved my meal. I thought I would save time with this dumpling recipe but will stick with my rolled dumplings; the difference in taste and texture of the rolled dumplings is just so worth the extra time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Oh my word! Great base for a recipe, did a few adjustments according to my taste. I used chicken broth, rather than water. Also, did add chopped celery & carrots, and a savory blend of herbs. Rather than make my biscuit mix, I purchased Pillsbury Grand buttermilk biscuits, split in half. It came out wonderfully tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Fulton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Comfort food at its best! I grew up on this stuff and although my grandmother made her dumplings from scratch, these taste very good. I love the ease of using Bisquick for these dumplings. I added celery, carrots,and garlic as well as a can of cream of chicken soup. That gave it some really good flavor. I only had 4 chicken thighs thawed out, but it was plenty of chicken. I also used some leftover chicken stock instead of just all water for more flavor and thickened it with whole wheat flour. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Really hit the spot. I too added carrots and chicken broth. it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Husband LOVED it! I used 2 cans of chicken w/ juice as well as a can of chicken broth. I added water for the rest of the liquid. I also added some peas, carrots, & seasonings as other comments indicated. I also followed the suggestion about rolling the dough out then adding it (plus my husband indicated he liked the square dumplings). The dough was really sticky, so I used extra baking mix to coat it while I rolled it. This was very easy & didn't take very long. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States