Chicken and Dumplings IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I cut this recipe in 1/2 so that it would feed 3 instead of 6. I pretty much followed this recipe exactly as written with the exception of using 2 large bone-in chicken breasts and adding extra water to cover the chicken. While cooking the chicken breasts, I seasoned them with poultry seasoning, salt, pepper, onion powder and garlic powder. I really loved this recipe and next time the only change I will make is to add a bit more extra water and to make my dumplings a bit smaller before dropping them in as I didn't realize that they would grow so much while cooking. :) Overall this is a very good and easy to make recipe. I have never made chicken and dumplings before and was pleased with the results. Unfortunately my 12 year old daughter didn't care for it that much so I probably won't be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Easy and yummy! Added some baby carrots that needed to be eaten and some chicken bouillon, and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Allan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
My family loves this recipe. It is so easy and very yummy! The only thing I do different is use canned chicken broth instead of water to give it more flavor since the boneless skinless chicken breast does not provide a hearty tasting broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
First time making this. Was pretty easy. The family loved it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Very good! Hearty & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nick & jody

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Absolutely fantastic recipe! The added a little more water and it was perfect. Super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mukilteo, Washington, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
About as good as Chicken and Dumplings is going to get. I used boneless thighs and dissolved chicken bouillon in the water (instead of using broth as some users have recommended).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackened_Heart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I was pretty impressed with this recipe. It was really easy to make, and it turned out great- tasted just like my grandma used to make me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Loved it! I made a few changes out of fear...I'm not very creative when i cook so I play it safe. I wanted a stronger chicken flavor, I didn't have any broth or stock so I threw in 4 chicken buillon cubes when simmering the chicken. This eliminated the need for any additional salt. I love onion so I added a little onion salt and a little celery seed. I agree with the author it needs a little more water, maybe a cup more only to make more of it!!! Will make it a regular during the cold months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
MMMmmm...this was so good. I Followed the recipie exactly and then added frozen vegetables, celery, onioin and boulion to my water while boiling chicken. This is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States