Chicken and Dumplings IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I cut this recipe in 1/2 so that it would feed 3 instead of 6. I pretty much followed this recipe exactly as written with the exception of using 2 large bone-in chicken breasts and adding extra water to cover the chicken. While cooking the chicken breasts, I seasoned them with poultry seasoning, salt, pepper, onion powder and garlic powder. I really loved this recipe and next time the only change I will make is to add a bit more extra water and to make my dumplings a bit smaller before dropping them in as I didn't realize that they would grow so much while cooking. :) Overall this is a very good and easy to make recipe. I have never made chicken and dumplings before and was pleased with the results. Unfortunately my 12 year old daughter didn't care for it that much so I probably won't be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Easy and yummy! Added some baby carrots that needed to be eaten and some chicken bouillon, and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Allan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
My family loves this recipe. It is so easy and very yummy! The only thing I do different is use canned chicken broth instead of water to give it more flavor since the boneless skinless chicken breast does not provide a hearty tasting broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
First time making this. Was pretty easy. The family loved it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Very good! Hearty & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nick & jody

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Absolutely fantastic recipe! The added a little more water and it was perfect. Super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mukilteo, Washington, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
About as good as Chicken and Dumplings is going to get. I used boneless thighs and dissolved chicken bouillon in the water (instead of using broth as some users have recommended).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackened_Heart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I was pretty impressed with this recipe. It was really easy to make, and it turned out great- tasted just like my grandma used to make me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Loved it! I made a few changes out of fear...I'm not very creative when i cook so I play it safe. I wanted a stronger chicken flavor, I didn't have any broth or stock so I threw in 4 chicken buillon cubes when simmering the chicken. This eliminated the need for any additional salt. I love onion so I added a little onion salt and a little celery seed. I agree with the author it needs a little more water, maybe a cup more only to make more of it!!! Will make it a regular during the cold months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
MMMmmm...this was so good. I Followed the recipie exactly and then added frozen vegetables, celery, onioin and boulion to my water while boiling chicken. This is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States