Chicken and Dumplings IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
a little band for my husband and me, but my five year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Made with a few suggested additions (based on personal preferences) and was a huge success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrewandvictoria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I used chicken broth instead of water, and added some thyme, rosemary, and carrots (we're not big celery fans). I also added some rosemary to the dumplings to give them a little extra flavor, and I didn't bother to remove and shred the chicken -- I just cut it into small pieces before putting it into the pot. I've tried this twice: once with flour and once with cornstarch. Something about the texture wasn't quite right either time, so I doubt I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This was so very good and easy to make. I used Bisquick for the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This was great and easy to "throw" together, however, I read some reviews and also added things. I used 4 cups chicken broth and 2 cups water. I added chopped onion, celery and carrots to the broth along with 3 boneless chicken breasts. I thickened it and then added the shredded chicken, then the dumplings, I thought it had great flavor and my husband liked it too. Will definetly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
After making this I just did not 'get' all the rave reviews. I read many of the reviews again and realized most ratings were based on additions the reviewer made---this was so bland as written and with all the additions I ended up with it became a totally different recipe. In short, added chicken bouillon, poultry seasoning, minced garlic, Cavender's Greek seasoning, 2 cans of Cream of chicken soup and with these additions it saved my meal. I thought I would save time with this dumpling recipe but will stick with my rolled dumplings; the difference in taste and texture of the rolled dumplings is just so worth the extra time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Oh my word! Great base for a recipe, did a few adjustments according to my taste. I used chicken broth, rather than water. Also, did add chopped celery & carrots, and a savory blend of herbs. Rather than make my biscuit mix, I purchased Pillsbury Grand buttermilk biscuits, split in half. It came out wonderfully tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Fulton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Comfort food at its best! I grew up on this stuff and although my grandmother made her dumplings from scratch, these taste very good. I love the ease of using Bisquick for these dumplings. I added celery, carrots,and garlic as well as a can of cream of chicken soup. That gave it some really good flavor. I only had 4 chicken thighs thawed out, but it was plenty of chicken. I also used some leftover chicken stock instead of just all water for more flavor and thickened it with whole wheat flour. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Really hit the spot. I too added carrots and chicken broth. it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Husband LOVED it! I used 2 cans of chicken w/ juice as well as a can of chicken broth. I added water for the rest of the liquid. I also added some peas, carrots, & seasonings as other comments indicated. I also followed the suggestion about rolling the dough out then adding it (plus my husband indicated he liked the square dumplings). The dough was really sticky, so I used extra baking mix to coat it while I rolled it. This was very easy & didn't take very long. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States