Chicken and Dumplings IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Great easy recipe. I added 2 cubes of chix boullion and a bay leaf to the cooking water. I didn't need all the flour/water slurry called for to thicken this and only used a couple of T. I added a good pinch of poultry seasoning to the bisquick as I made dumplings. A little white pepper and no additional salt and this turned out fabulous. I'll make this again and again. Thanks!!! It's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Fantastic recipe! My whole family loved this and I enjoyed making it too! One of my favorite meals growing up and I am thrilled that I can make it myself! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
mMmm..talk about comfort food. this surely hit the spot for me. i added chopped carrots, celery and potatoes in with the chicken. i didn't use the baking mix method for the dumplings because i didn't have any so i used a dumpling recipe i found on AR and it came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This is a great starter recipe! I added a stick of butter, used swanson chicken broth along with the broth from the chicken (but I strained it after cooking in a separate pot because I HATE scummy dumplings,) and I used cans of biscuits to make the dumplings. It was awesome, just like my mom always makes it! I couldn't believe how easy it was considering this was my first time making my favorite dish, had I known then I would've made it long ago! My son and husband both had three bowls each!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffanyB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
WONDERFUL! I was out of regular milk, so I used buttermilk. Still awesome, and just like Dad used to make. Maybe even better..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HugBug01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I just made this last night and it was a really good starting point. I added chicken bullion and whole baby carrots,chopped onion.celery and fresh minced garlic as well as a couple of bay leaves to the chicken and water. I also used bone in chicken thighs since we like the dark meat better. it has more fat and is more flavorful than breast. The dumplings came out perfect and the whole dish was just amazing. When I found this recipie I noted that with the ingrediants listed it would be pretty bland if I stuck to the exact recipie as it was. I reccomend "tweaking" this recipie and using it as a starting point and guide. It was very simple to make and my Husband and kids were going back for seconds and thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Very good dumpling! Just like mom's. Made it just the dumpling per the recipe but did my own thing for the soup. Marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This was absolutely wonderful! My fiancee and 2 year old loved it as well! This is definitely a keeper! Thanks so much for this recipe! I have tried many chicken and dumpling recipes that have all turned out to taste horrible but this one was out of this world! I followed the recipe expcept I used Chicken broth instead of water! Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
It weas really good, but I was afraid it'd be too bland so I did add a couple things, but it was still a good guide for getting me to the end result which was a really good dinner that everyone enjoyed. I cooked the chick in 1 can broth and water for the rest of the liquid. I added a can of condensed low fat cream of chicken soup and a tablespoon of flour to thicken the liquid. I also added 1 onion and about 2 cups of frozen mixed vegetables to boil in the broth after the chick was mostly cooked. To season, I added pepper, poultry seasoning and another all-purpose seasoning sold by a local restaurant. I was really happy with how this turned out and using the baking mix was really easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Couldn't love this recipe more! I altered the dumplings mix because I didn't have baking mix but I am sure it didn't change the outcome! Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefbound

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States